SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Wash-a-way Wonder Tape uses

Viewed 7317 times
Posted by: Debbie Lancaster
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Debbie Lancaster star
CA USA
Member since: 9/18/02
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
tips added: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/31/04 5:30 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 21 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
11/1/04: I added a link to a picture of the package and the following explanation of what it is:

Wash-a-way Wonder Tape is a double stick tape that is water soluble. For pocket application, for example, you stick one side of the tape to the pocket wrong-side edge, pull off the backing tape, and stick the pocket to the garment. It washes out in the laundry. *However*, as StitchMD noted, it leaves a little bit of white residue behind (but I haven't noticed that the actual adhesive stays around, just a kind of white lint). I've found that you can remove the residue by gently rubbing on it. I imagine that scotch tape or packing tape would also help to take it off. I've found that subsequent washings won't remove the white stuff entirely, you have to remove it by hand. If you apply it carefully, however, as MaryBeth noted in her comment below, it won't be noticeable by anyone except you.



Over on the message board, we listed some of the ways we use Wash-a-Way Wonder Tape, and I thought it would be a good idea to put it here, since not everyone watches the message board.

* Basting in zippers
* Basting on pockets or appliques or waistbands
* Making your machine emb hoop sticky on the bottom so it grips the fabric when you go to hoop it
* Stabilizing and basting hems or seams across the stretch of a knit fabric.
* Holding trim in place for stitching
* Basting slippery fabric
* Matching plaids or prints
* Holding a button in place while you sew it
* Emergency hem repair
* Holding those "turn under seam allowance and top stitch" projects
* Keeping appliques in place while they're sewn (hand or machine)
* I do quite a bit of sewing with fleece and I use it to insert zippers and also so hold bulky seams together when the long daisy head pins won't do the job
* Fixing the gaposis on button down blouses.
* Sticking bra straps to blouse to keep the #*#(# things from falling down
* Hold shoulder pads in place until they can be tacked in
* Hemming napkins, dishtowels, placemats. Wonder tape gives an exact 1/4 inch doubled hem
* Use it anywhere that's likely to stretch or shift badly

Courtesy of DebJCook, StitchMD, Diana M, BorderCollieMom, Sherrill Miller, Lizz, and Cornelia

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
SewVeryTall said...
I went to the message board to check this out, because I hadn't heard of it before. Is it like Wonder Under [paper backed, iron on 'glue'], in 1/4" wide strip form? I guess the proper thing for me to do is request a notion review on it, but that seems redundant with all the usage info listed here.
Also, I noticed that StitchMD's question wasn't answered on the message board: "I am having a problem with paper and adhesive residue left behind after washing. Anyone know what I'm doing wrong? Should I use warmer water?"
11/1/04 9:07 AM
MaryBeth said...
I made a microfleece bathrobe for my husband and the Wash-Away Tape didn't wash away from the fibers. No big deal as the tape is small and is visible on only a tiny corner of the appliqued pocket but it's still there after three washings. I attribute it's abiding presence to the character of the fleece. No one knows it's there but me and now ya'll and next time I'll be a wee bit more careful.
11/1/04 11:33 AM
candyo said...
I've never used this before... looks like I have to have this stuff! Maybe it'll help sew on bindings on knit tops... they always stretch out for me.
11/1/04 8:43 PM
Nancy Peters said...
Thank Debbie for listing the uses! I have this in my stash and every once in a while remember to use it. I think it might be getting a little old. (Life span >10 years?) I think I will print this list out and tack it to my bulletin board to remember to use it. And you are right. I do not go on the message board that often. If I look at this site as often as I would like, I would never sew. So once every few months does it for me. Thanks a million
11/4/04 11:55 AM
Irene Q said...
I have to add a warning here about using Wonder Tape on light-colored silk. I used it to baste some lace on a white silk slip and to baste a hem on a white silk top, and it left a light brown stain on both garments when I washed it out. I haven't tried any stain removers yet (I'm trying to be very gentle with the silk) so the stains may eventually come out. Luckily, neither garment is ruined - I wear the top tucked in, and who sees a slip? - but beware if you're tempted to use Wonder Tape on a wedding dress!!
3/23/05 2:05 PM
solosmocker said...
I use this frequently for inserting piping in garments. I love it.
2/25/06 10:54 PM
BeckyW said...
Great tip. Let me add: Hold velcro in place for stitching.
9/2/06 10:24 PM
max454 said...
So, how do you use it on the neckline of a t-shirt to keep it from stretching when you are sewing it?
11/12/10 3:28 PM
Debbie Lancaster said...
max454: Just tape it around the neckline, fold over, and stitch. This prevents the neckline from stretching as you sew, since the tape doesn't stretch at all. You don't want to use Wonder Tape for a neckline that has binding, though, because the binding already is a bit smaller than the neckline.
11/13/10 12:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

J Stern Designs The Tee Pattern

J Stern Designs The Tee Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.