SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > No more French seams on silkies

Viewed 5261 times
Posted by: Virginia
photo

 
 
About Virginia
CA USA
Member since: 9/23/04
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/4/04 11:38 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Needs More Info by 1 people   Very Helpful by 1 people   Off-topic by 2 people   
I went to an antique store in Raton, New Mexico looking for (1) the old fashioned binder attachment for bias tape binding. She said she gives all of them to her machine repair man.
When I got home from vacation, I went to a repair shop here in San Bernardino, CA and found just what I wanted and a ruffler also. Arrowhead Sewing on "E" street is run by Mike. (2) He also has several colors of serger thread 6,000 yards for the price of 3,000 you usually buy.
(3) I want to eleminate the TWO-STEP with French seams. I'm going to try binding my green organdy blouse and also a silk blouse with the binder (and self bias tape) I bought.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


15 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
solosmocker said...
I do heirloom sewing often using small french seams. I, too, use my rotary cutter. I stitch wrong sides together with a 1/4 inch seam, press as sewn, trim with rotary cutter to between 1/16th and 1/8, fold wrong sides together on seam line, press again, stitch a 1/4 inch seam. Very simple and quick. I did not find this review helpful in any way.
9/10/06 9:30 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
I find that using my rotary cutter to trim French seams makes them much easier. I go slowly, and I usually lay a clear gridded ruler over the fabric, with the edge about 1/8" away from the sewn seam, and use that as my cutting guide. I make sure I have a fresh, sharp blade in the cutter, especially if I am dealing with a sheer silk. This takes loads of time off the trimming portion of constructing the seam. HTH! -Ann
11/14/04 7:37 PM
SewVeryTall said...
drsue...I'm sure glad somebody understood my point...and I'd love to see some clarification too [transient lucidity could explain the dissimilarity]. Oh, and I hope you don't get flamed, lol.
11/14/04 5:10 AM
drsue said...
Well, I suppose I'm risking getting flammed here but here goes. SewVeryTall. I too noted the name similarities. Virginya wrote a very nice tip recently on using the internet. The writing was quite different in that time than in her post here. So I don't think Virgnia and Virginya are the same. But why would Virginya who writes quite well write a comment like this? Virginya, can you clarify? No flaming please.
11/13/04 4:08 PM
Georgene said...
French seams are not terribly hard if you have *good* tiny scissors, like the embroidery scissors from Gingher. Cutting with regular scissors could definatley turn your hair prematurely grey! With tiny sicissors, cutting the seam allowance after the first stich is a breeze, then you can press the seam flat with a finger before passing it under the machine a second time. (That is if you want to cut out the step of pressing after the first stitchline.) If my fabric is fabulous, I don't mind putting in the time. For less than fabulous....quick fixes are OK.
11/13/04 12:50 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
I also had trouble following this tip. It sounds like good fodder for asking on the message board. Nanflan, I agree with you.
11/13/04 10:26 AM
Mini said...
For those who fear French seams, you can find some excellent info in Claire Schaeffer's Complete Book of Sewing Shortcuts. She gives several different methods, including the the "drapery French seam", which I have found to be easier than the standard type. There are lots of other useful seam finishes described in the book, many of which I have never seen in pattern intructions.
11/9/04 1:30 PM
NancyDaQ said...
I agree about the initial posting not being helpful, but wasn't that last comment unneccessarily harsh?
11/9/04 12:36 PM
SewVeryTall said...
So now we have a Virginia and a Virginya. Interesting that they both start a sentence with one thought, then forget how they started.
11/9/04 7:05 AM
Virginya said...
i read the critiques by other "members" and must admit I was not inspired by their input. You may be making what to others are obvious mistakes in both the web site use and sewing style. You admit that you are not an experienced seamstress. I find it ironic that the input was not a positive as I would have hoped. Since the "free" lesson is the french seam..which I admit to doing by hand 40 yrs. ago. We all didn't buy sergers. I just got mine reacently. Please be kind to other memebers and try to incourage them.
11/8/04 8:14 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Virginia, let us know how it works. I must admit to being incurably lazy about cutting my own bias strips, but if you get good results, maybe I can be reformed.
11/6/04 3:38 PM
drsue said...
Virginia - - this sort of thing really should be posted on the message board. Have you seen the message board here?
11/6/04 11:19 AM
Virginia said...
Thank you for the constructive criticism, that is how we learn, isn't it. The nicer quality silk blouses I've seen have French seams but you have to trim, then press the seam and sew it again. I am a novice when it comes to sewing silkies so I appreciate any advice.
11/6/04 10:46 AM
candyo said...
No offense, but this isn't helpful. It's got too much superfluous info in it. I had to reread it a few times to understand where the tip was. Except, since you haven't actually tried it, it isn't a tip. Again, I'm not trying to put you down, just trying to give constructive criticism.
11/5/04 1:44 PM
SewVeryTall said...
(1) it's still at least two steps (2) hard to see any advantage (3) sounds like more work
[isn't this why nearly everyone bought a serger?]
11/5/04 5:50 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

More Info
Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.