SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Used needles to hang pictures

Viewed 5730 times
Posted by: candyo
photo

 
 
About candyo starstarstar
FL USA
Member since: 3/6/03
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 78 people
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/10/04 5:55 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 2 people   
This comes from DIY network's Linda Cobb, aka "The Queen of Clean."

Use your old sewing machine needles to hang pictures. Insert them into the wall at a 45 degree angle. They will hold up to 30 pounds. They leave very small holes in a wall when removed.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Diana M said...
Amazing, Nikki -- I needed to know this right this minute. Now I can go hang the clock back up without moving the fridge to find that nail . . .
11/10/04 10:26 PM
Karla Kizer said...
I had forgotten about using needles for this purpose - and here I am with a whole bunch of them in my Spice Jar sharps container, suggested by someone here on PR ages ago. Handsewing needles hold lightweight items very well, too, and they leave virtually no hole in the wall. I sent my DD off to college with handsewing needles and a hammer, and within days she had met everyone on her dorm floor, because the word got out that she had a real hammer and a supply of "nails"..... I should have included some SM needles, too.
11/11/04 5:47 AM
Kim Winson said...
Nikki, thank you so much! I tried hanging my frames up a few months ago but the nails I had were too big for the holes in the back of the frames. I'm going to try this idea soon! Kim
11/11/04 11:51 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Please remember those safety glasses! Needles can shatter when hit with a hammer. You don't want a needle fragment to end up in your eye. :-O
11/11/04 12:08 PM
D1Diva said...
Thanks for pointing that out Gigi.
11/11/04 1:28 PM
Deepika said...
This is such a great tip! Thanks
11/11/04 2:58 PM
charvana said...
brilliant!
7/8/05 11:35 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.