SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Tips & Techniques > Organize new patterns with PR first

Viewed 5303 times
Posted by: edube
photo

 
 
About edube star
ME USA
Member since: 7/9/03
Reviews: 61 (tips: 4)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/12/04 5:25 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 1 people   
This is my first tip and I haven't seen anything like it so far, so I hope it's not a repeat.

Today I went to Joann's where they were having a sale on Simplicity--$1/each. I bought the maximum allowed-10. Rather than just throw them in a box, I set them up in number order and then looked through PR to see if any had been reviewed yet. I saved the reviews that applied to my purchases and wrote on each pattern envelope whether there had been reviews and how many. I also recorded the date of my search.

NOW when I go to start a new pattern I will read the reviews FIRST, not like I have been in the past--checking AFTER all the mistakes have been made!

Now to go back and do the same thing with the rest of my pattern collection--a monumental task.:))

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Jennifer shaw said... (11/17/04 6:55 PM) Reply
Yipes! What a terrific idea!
Danvillegirl said... (11/14/04 5:24 PM) Reply
I have just started cataloging my older patterns. Newer ones I automatically add to Pattern Catalog. Great feature of this site. As Debe says, printing out the review is also helpful before attempting the pattern.
Lisa Laree said... (11/14/04 7:31 AM) Reply
If you list your patterns in your PR catalog, any patterns that are reviewed are highlighted! That's one of my favorite PR features!
Athelas said... (11/13/04 11:36 AM) Reply
I just did this yesterday with my Sim. patterns from Jo-Ann's!
Sew it seams said... (11/13/04 8:26 AM) Reply
I like this idea. We can also print out an especially good review and tuck it in with the pattern. Thanks for this tip.
Stitchology said... (11/12/04 7:09 PM) Reply
Great idea!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Pattern Details

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2015 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.