SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Organize those Burda magazine patterns

Viewed 5159 times
Posted by: edube
photo

 
 
About edube star
ME USA
Member since: 7/9/03
Reviews written: 61
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
tips added: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/21/04 11:25 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I have 12 years' worth of Burda WOF magazines. I was almost going insane trying to keep track of all the designs I wanted to try; I could never remember which issue they were in. I knew something had to be done.

I tore out the two pages at the beginning of the instruction section--the one where the line drawings are shown for all the designs for that month. I put these pages in a 3-ring binder and noted when I had traced out a design along with the size I had copied and if I had made up the garment.

The traced patterns I keep in gallon-size ziplock bags with a copy of that particular pattern taped to the front of the bag. I keep a slip of paper with the pattern detailing the garments I have made.

The magazines themselves are kept in those plastic magazine holders. I can fit about 6 in each holder.

Now I can keep track of Burda WOF without panicking. And I often peruse my 3 ring binder in bed at night, happily thinking of projects to be made in the future!

Update: I have added a photo of my bookcase. On the bottom right you can see the notebook and at the top you can see the magazines. Each file is labeled with the months of the magazines themselves. In the middle to the left are boxes of Threads magazines and the bottom left shows a box with the traced patterns. Without this system, I would be totally DISorganized!

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
gabrielle said...
Very good idea, thank you! I only have a year's worth, and am beginning to panic. :)
11/22/04 7:39 PM
SandraB said...
I have less than a year's worth and am also beginning to panic. Thanks for this great idea.
11/23/04 11:41 AM
Tesla121 said...
I have only one WOF, but am going to start this with this one. That way I won't have several months worth, trying to figure out how to organize them.
11/24/04 6:55 PM
ladylola said...
I use this method too but keep the design pages in the magazine and photocopy them to put in my binder.
11/24/04 8:59 PM
Elaray said...
I go to the Burda website and copy the images from the site. I paste the images into a word processing document and add pertinent information such as the volume and pattern number (04/2005-#123), yardages, notions-- typical pattern envelope information. Then, I print out 2 copies: one for the ziploc pattern bag (folded with the photo visible) and one for my inspiration binder (if I'm not going to make it immediately. I keep the magazines in an plastic expandable 13-pocket file folder. The magazine in the first pocket and the pattern sheet in the second pocket -- it will hold six issues.
5/17/05 8:05 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Both your tip & Elaray's are quite helpful! My Burda and Knip Mode stashes are growing.
7/12/06 8:47 AM
TalyQ said...
I only have about 12 different magazines so far (not from one year) and I have just decided to do something about it. I am scanning those two pages with model overview in the computer. THen I hope to print them out and put in a binder. I didn't want to rip apart the instruction booklets because I often lend the magazines to mom and friends. Elaray, how do you copy the images from the website? One by one? And do you then format one model per page or more? Sounds like a lot of work, or am I missing something? Could you post an example of your Word pages? THanks.
1/2/09 4:02 AM
arianamaniacs said...
This is a great tip. I do this too, although I photocopied the overview page with the line drawings to put in the 3-ring binder. That way, you're not lost if you ever lose the 3-ring binger. Instead of using plastic bags, I paperclip the copied patterns inside the magazine itself. It's less messy, and I don't have to store them somewhere else. Besides, up til now I have rarely made more than 2 patterns from the same magazine.
9/7/10 7:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Beginner Sewing Lab 104 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 104  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.