SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > NOT using a zipper foot to put in a zipper

Viewed 5221 times
Posted by: Janie Viers
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Janie Viers star
OH USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 61
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 5 people
tips added: 29
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/22/04 10:04 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I have found that I have more control when I install a zipper if I can use my reg. Zig Zag foot. It's wider and provides a more stable grip between the zipper and the feed dogs. The only reason I ever used a zipper foot was because the pull would not allow the reg. foot to be used. SOLUTION: Get the zipper several inches longer than you need and sew the zipper in with the pull well above the garment edge. I have put in over a hundred closed end zippers with this method. Unzip the zipper a few inches and do a satin stitch where you want the new stop to be, and VOILA, zipper is in.

The second plus to using too long zippers is that you always have the right length available, and third plus is that the metal top stop isn't hidden to nick your needle when you finish the neckline (and cause extra bulk)

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
I love this idea. It certainly would make putting a zipper in a heck of a lot easier. Thanks for writing up this tip.
11/22/04 10:30 PM
Astrostitcher said...
Having always struggled with zippers this is a great suggestion. Might just go sew a dress on the strength of this one!Thanks.
11/23/04 2:21 AM
gianghuongnhi said...
good
11/23/04 5:40 AM
Janie Viers said...
I have a few 1000 yard mini cones of Gutterman thread that are too big to spin smoothly and the bobbin acts as a little bearing to keep it moving.
11/23/04 5:00 PM
BjP said...
Janie, good tip. I have also been buying longer than needed zippers but didn't think to still use regular foot. I'm also glad you mentioned doing a satin stitch - I hadn't thought of that, so doubly-good tip!
11/25/04 9:18 AM
Jammarie said...
Zippers are definitely a challenge to me, and this idea is fantastic! I think this will help me from being discouraged when I select a new pattern and it says ... zipper needed. Thanks so much!
1/3/05 1:51 PM
cynthia w said...
do you sew with the presser foot over the zipper teeth and just move your needle to the right or left to clear the zipper teeth? Or do you keep your foot on either side of the zipper when sewing?(Like you would with a normal zipper foot.) I too love to sew with zippers longer than needed.
1/10/05 3:34 PM
GJ said...
Smart, I'm going to try. GJ
3/29/05 11:15 PM
Loudone247 said...
I have never been so happy to read a sewing tip as I was this one! This is definately the way I will be putting in zippers from now on. Thanks so much!!
1/5/06 2:49 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.