SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Making Bias Tape or Binding

Viewed 5493 times
Posted by: SewVeryTall
photo

 
 
About SewVeryTall starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/2/04
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 63 people
tips added: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/28/04 0:45 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 16 people   
For those who don't have the bias tape makers, or don't have the right size needed, there is a cooler way of making it other than pressing the strips in half, then opening, folding, and ironing each raw edge to the middle.

The trick is to use a long pin, and pin it into your ironing board. First pin it in and out, then skip the distance you want the width of the single fold bias tape, then pin in and out again. Just to help this be visualized, if you wanted 1/4 inch double fold bias tape, you would catch the pin in the ironing board, skip over 1/2 inch, then catch the pin in the ironing board again.

Next, push the strip of fabric you've cut underneath the pin in the skipped space. As you pull it through, fold the edges in until they meet in the center. Now that you've got them evenly folded in, pull the fabric back to near the beginning. Once you've got it going right, it wants to keep going that way because the pin is holding it.

Now you start ironing. Press that first inch or so, then pull a little more fabric through, press it, pull more through, press, etc. Once you've got enough pressed that it's longer than the width of your iron, you can just set the iron down on the fabric, use one hand to guide the fabric, and one hand to pull it through.

After you've done all the single fold bias, you can change the width of the skipped space on the pin to half as wide. Now it will hold the double fold bias, as you make the second fold and iron it.

I saw this done on "Simply Quilts" on TV, and I had to try it immediately...it really works great for bias or straight binding.






<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


12 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
drsue said...
What a cleaver idea! I bet it works better than those bias strip folder thingy's I have.
11/28/04 10:19 AM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Sounds like a good alternative - even with those bias makers, if you are making lots, those buggers heat up and I've cooked fingers and steam burned myself.
11/28/04 10:54 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Very clever! If you are able to post pictures, the process would be even clearer.
11/29/04 5:46 AM
eleda said...
Thanks for the Tip/Technique. If you can, pictures would be very helpful.
11/29/04 7:03 AM
Sew it seams said...
Great idea! I have a couple of those bias makers, but this seems easier to do.
11/29/04 8:54 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Thank you to all for the nice ratings :)
I went to the HGTV site to see if there were pictures of this technique from the Simply Quilts show, and I couldn't find any.
I just ordered a new computer today...yay...so I'll have the capability of doing digital photos soon.
11/30/04 3:47 AM
ShereeSews said...
Wonderful idea, can't wait to try it out on some potholders for a Christmas exchange in my sewing guild!
12/4/04 7:51 PM
mapatterson said...
My fingers thank you!
12/13/04 7:23 AM
flowermama said...
Thank you! I'm using this technique (with 2 pins) for my ribbon binding on fleece blankets and what a timesaver!
12/13/04 8:44 PM
KitnRose said...
I had to read this through twice to visualize but I think I've got it! I just wish I had had this a month ago when I needed it! Thanks for posting and for the clear directions, especially for something as hard to explain as this.
12/21/04 10:15 AM
appy said...
I printed this one out, sure don't want to forget how to do this.
6/1/05 9:40 PM
Giggles. said...
After reading this technique, I found a tutorial on youtube so I could clearly see how to do it. The only difference is in the tutorial they didn't guide the binding under the pin for the second fold, they just folded and pressed. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BPrFfg9rtmM
11/16/09 1:29 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

The Essential Tote

The Essential Tote

Buy Now
PerfectFuse Medium Black

PerfectFuse Medium Black

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.