SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > prewashing fabrics

Viewed 5331 times
Posted by: katie
photo

 
 
About katie
WI USA
Member since: 11/7/02
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/8/02 12:24 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 16 people   
When prewashing fabric if you meet the two cut ends together and serge or zigzag the edges together you will no only prevent excessive fraying but the length will not twist up as much and will be easy to iron. The fabric will be a big loop. Beats me why this works but I've been doing it for years and it does.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Kristi De Paul said...
This is a great tip when sewing with longer lengths of fabric; most likely with all lengths. Thanks.
12/29/02 4:39 PM
PhyllisC said...
...I do this as well - it absolutely works really well. Also - the fabric stays more on-grain.
12/27/02 2:51 PM
AnneM said...
I just baste the 2 ends together, and that seems to work fine and is easy to remove. (Obviously, you will get a bit more fraying then if you serged the ends.)
12/14/02 10:36 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
I will be trying this. Thanks Katie.
12/9/02 3:12 PM
Loreli said...
Thats a good idea Katie. I will try it out. Thank for the tip.
12/9/02 10:56 AM
Deepika said...
Yes Katie, I do it every now and then when I am too lazy to zigzag both the ends. Works well :)
12/8/02 11:52 PM
Dale C said...
That's an interesting idea to try. I often work with long lengths of fabric so this will be helpful. Usually, I'll either just throw it into the wash, or serge the cut ends separately. Thanks for the tip Katie.
12/8/02 11:30 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Sassy Bag

Sassy Bag

Buy Now
Jackets for Real People DVD

Jackets for Real People DVD

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.