SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > ROUGH HANDS on FABRIC

Viewed 5269 times
Posted by: SewTwin
photo

 
 
About SewTwin star
TX USA
Member since: 1/13/04
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
tips added: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/29/04 9:35 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 4 people   
I am always frustrated with rough hands due to a skin condition. Handcreams never seem to help.
Today I used my the mild side of my foot sander on my
fingers, and ta da; they are now silky smooth!
Now the handcreams will work, and I can shop my stash without catching every loose thread on silkys, or boucles.
Gotta luv it! Hope this helps others with the same problem!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
cindyann said...
Good tip! I always keep a nail file handy too to prevent snags.
11/29/04 12:16 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
I think my grandfather gave me this tip: sugar and olive oil scrub. Put a little of each in your hands, then rub and wring your hands together to gently exfoliate. Then wash your hands with a gentle soap and pat dry. Ooooooo soft!
11/29/04 12:40 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Wow - my hands are rough all the time. I don't have a foot sander - but - maybe I need to get one. Thanks for the tip.
11/29/04 1:16 PM
els said...
Thanks for the tip i will give it a try , My solution is the same as Leslie added sugar and olive oil, but also coffee grind ) left over coffee from the filter works also as a scrub for rough hands.
11/29/04 8:11 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Good tip, I can't stand a rough spot either, and have nail files all over the house for 'sanding'.
Just to add my 2 worth here...I'm a big believer in using Ivory Liquid. It is so mild, I don't even have to use lotion after washing lots of dishes. I even have some in a decorative pump bottle, just for hand washing.
11/30/04 4:04 AM
Elaine Penney said...
I've also use the foot sanders for a long time. One caution - there are different grits of sanders. Be sure you get a fine one, the coarse ones can take off more than just the DEAD skin cells and make the problem worse. Ask me how I know!
11/30/04 6:03 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Have not thought of using mine on my hands. Nice tip for me to try. Thanks.
11/30/04 6:58 PM
Jan B. said...
Nice tip. I've used a scrub of olive oil plus coarse seasalt and added dried herbs. That tip was given by Heather at Patternshowcase. Think I'll give the Ivory dishsoap a try.
12/1/04 6:23 PM
Astrostitcher said...
a bit OT here but if the problem goes beyond just rough hands and you have cracks around the nails or on finger tips from harsh water and/or cold weather (I got both!), apply a little Camphor Ice by Dermatone (comes in a big push-up stick for chapped lips) on the sore before going to bed. Next morning you are already healing and in no time the cracks are closed. This product is hard to find but your drugist can probably get it if you insist. I can't get through the winter without it.
12/3/04 3:09 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.