SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Cutting faux fur

Viewed 5434 times
Posted by: Mary Stiefer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mary Stiefer starstarstarstar
CO USA
Member since: 2/17/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 36 people
tips added: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/29/04 2:04 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I am in the process of making a traditional Santa so, I had to purchase some white fur. I found that the sales ladies at any fabric store do not do a great job when cutting the faux fur and I suggest you recut when you get home. If the fur is not cut properly you get a clean edge to the fur rather than the fur going over the edges to disguise the cut edge.

I use a pair of stork scissors when cutting this fur. You must only cut the backing when doing this. Turn the fabric so that the backing is facing you. Then, use the points of the stork scissors to slide underneath the backing and then cut. The points make this process quite easy and they slide through the fur so that you are only cutting the backings.

This works like a charm.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
SewVeryTall said...
Mary...you're welcome. It'd be great if someone did a notion review on it.
12/7/04 6:54 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Wow - That's cool. That might work as long as you get the bottom plate situated correctly. It's not very pointed so it won't slide under the fur easily - but it looks like it can be done. Thanks for the info. I might want to use this for some other things that I'm doing. They must be popular because they are out of stock at Joann's. Thanks again SewVeryTall.
12/6/04 9:11 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Mary...so-so-sewer isn't talking about a regular rotary cutter. Maybe you haven't seen the kind she's talking about? Here's a photo and description of it:
http://www.joann.com/catalog.jhtml?CATID=24988&PRODID=66088
12/5/04 11:29 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
I'm not so sure I would use a rotary cutter. It would seem to me that it would cut right through the fur and this isn't what you want to do. You need to only cut the backing. So - if you become a little heavy-handed you then have a fur snow flying around your room. hehehe
12/3/04 10:16 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Interesting idea, so-so-sewer, have you ever used one of those? I've wondered how well they work.
12/3/04 4:39 AM
Astrostitcher said...
Or how about using one of the rotary slash cutters with the front-end guide bar used for making slash chenille-type projects? Clover makes them in 2 sizes.
12/3/04 2:55 AM
Annemari said...
It could be done with sharp razorblade or crafting knife also.
12/2/04 0:55 AM
Ruthie L said...
Good tip, Mary. A few years ago I was making dance costumes trimmed with red and yellow fur, and being in a great hurry (since I waited till the last minute), I cut the fur wrong and with all that yellow and red fur all over my work room, it looked l slaughterd Big Bird...Big Mess!
12/1/04 9:39 PM
Steffie said...
Thanks for the tip!
11/30/04 7:44 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Good tip, and exactly the right way to cut fur. The shorter the blades are on the scissors the better...or just cut with the tips of the blades.
11/30/04 4:15 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Petite Plus 651 Pattern

More Info
The Essential Tote

The Essential Tote

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.