SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Handwritten Labels

Viewed 5393 times
Posted by: SewVeryTall
photo

 
 
About SewVeryTall starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/2/04
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 63 people
tips added: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/30/04 5:57 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 18 people   
A couple months ago I purchased a package of Uni-ball Gel Impact pens as recommended for safe check writing. The experts said the ink in these pens could not be removed in "check washing scams" [stolen checks from mailboxes, rewritten].

I got to thinking, if this ink wouldn't wash out of paper with acetone by scammers, it shouldn't wash out of fabric with detergent. So, I decided to conduct an experiment.

I ironed some freezer paper onto the backside of some plain fabric [for ease in writing], and wrote on it with one of these pens. I ironed over half the writing, or heatset. Then I put the fabric by my washing machine so I could put it through many wash loads to see how it held up.

Good news! The ink is not fading on either side, so heatsetting the ink with an iron isn't even necessary. But also, it doesn't hurt anything if your iron does touch this ink.

These pens write on fabric so much easier than the special permanent fabric pen I bought. A package of 2 costs less than $5 at Walmart.

This is a nice way to make a handwritten label for the back of a quilt, to show who made it, when, where, etc. Fold the edges under to clean finish, while the freezer paper is still attached, for an easier fold. Press, then peel the paper off before sewing onto the project.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


18 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Hope K said...
Thanks for this tip! I appreciate your rigorous testing, and I'll check to see if I have any of these pens lying around the house. I do have to make a quilt label soon.
11/30/04 8:17 AM
Jackie M said...
Cool -- I'd love to add a handwritten touch to the tags I put in my custom-made dog coats ...
11/30/04 8:18 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
great tip
11/30/04 10:05 AM
PegL said...
This is really great to know information! Thanks for the tip!
11/30/04 12:10 PM
Diana M said...
Great tip!! I think it'll work for something as simple as size tags --oh, oh -- and for those "handmade by Grandma" labels that are ridiculously expensive.
11/30/04 4:26 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Thank you all for the nice responses...and to think I almost didn't write this up because I figured no one would be interested...I'm glad I did :)
12/1/04 4:46 AM
kathi s said...
Great tip- thank you!
12/1/04 10:14 AM
sissie said...
Thank you Want a good tip thanks for sharing
12/1/04 9:30 PM
candyo said...
Thank you for the tip!
12/2/04 9:52 AM
Astrostitcher said...
Thanks SewVeryTall, for this and all your other great tips. We should call you SewManyGoodTips! Keep 'em comin'.
12/3/04 2:58 AM
SewVeryTall said...
so-so-sewer...lol. You're all very welcome.
12/3/04 4:54 AM
GayleC said...
I am so excitd to see this tip! I can't wait to try it. Thanks so much
12/4/04 8:03 PM
JDpenelope said...
Thanks for this great tip. Will definitely use it!
12/8/04 3:40 AM
AnneM said...
I might even have a package of this at home already! Thanks for sharing this info.
12/8/04 4:24 AM
Georgene said...
Thank you so much for this tip. I went out and bought a bunch of these in many colors, including some cool metallics. I used ribbon for my labels: the grosgrain was OK but the satin ribbon was awesome. What a great way to personalize a gift! Thank you , thank you...
12/8/04 9:26 AM
pandoula said...
Great tip (both for checks and labels.)
12/9/04 3:00 PM
Tammy S said...
Thanks for another great way to personalize my creations. When making scrubs or custom garments, I will put my phone number on them so my customer will never lose it.
1/28/05 5:46 PM
Cornelia said...
I just bumped into this. How cool! You've taken all the "what ifs" out of the process. You've got to get the prize for thinking outside of the box.
6/5/08 4:13 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Chelsea

Chelsea

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.