SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Sewing Plastic without table drag

Viewed 5509 times
Posted by: Janie Viers
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Janie Viers star
OH USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 61
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 5 people
tips added: 29
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/4/04 10:08 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 4 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I was making the plastic bags when it occured that I wasn't having foot drag trouble, but table drag! I was binding the edge in twill tape so the foot was great. I had to sew slowly, though, to keep readjusting the plastic to the left of the foot. So, I took a piece of freezer paper (big piece) and put it plastic side down and plain paper side up over the sewing table, cutting a little hole for the thread. I taped it over the front and under the foot and over the back of the table. Voila.....the plastic slides along nicely. I had seen a "teflon" version, but didn't want to pay the price for something that 1) was expensive 2) I didn't use much and 3) would probably misplace between the time I bought and it the time I needed it. So, there you are, a non drag surface next to the machine that costs pennies!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Astrostitcher said...
Bravo Janie! I love to save money! The best thing is with your technique you can get a drag-free surface any size you want, good for a quilter working on a large (machine bed level) surface. Thanks muchly.
1/7/05 3:51 AM
SewVeryTall said...
let's see if this comment goes to the end where it should be....see my 12-10-04 comment above ^
12/10/04 7:16 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Thanks Janie! That is a lot more reasonable than buying a teflon foot...and for $4, enough to do 20 feet [we could get 20 people together on this, and only pay 20 each + 37 stamp]. I know, lol, I'm beyond frugal!
Very reasonable price on the cookie sheet liners shown too...those Silpat [sp?] liners cost more than twice as much.
12/10/04 7:13 AM
Janie Viers said...
http://www.kapres.com/ptfe/ptfe.htm
12/9/04 10:56 AM
SewVeryTall said...
I hear ya Janie. I just googled the 'stickie back Teflon' to see where I could buy it, and it showed me Teflon tape that plumbers use...is that it? Do you remember where you saw this product sold by the foot?
12/8/04 5:46 AM
Janie Viers said...
You can get stickie back teflon by the foot to do that with. I was having more trouble with the plastic dragging along the table and throat plate!
12/7/04 12:02 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Janie...oh, ok, thanks for clarifying. I'm going to try this the next time I sew something 'sticky'. I was thinking about your tip, and I wonder if I could glue some freezer paper or parchment to the bottom of a presser foot to make it like Teflon foot. The extra feet for my machine are ridiculously expensive.
12/7/04 7:12 AM
Janie Viers said...
No, I meant I cut a little hole for the feed dogs and foot! That's one big "DUH" for me!
12/6/04 11:54 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Cool tip, thanks! I am understanding correctly, that you covered the feed dogs too? ["cutting a little hole for the thread"]
12/5/04 11:43 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

More Info
PerfectFuse Medium White

PerfectFuse Medium White

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.