SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Sewing Plastic without table drag

Viewed 5555 times
Posted by: Janie Viers
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Janie Viers star
OH USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 61
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 5 people
tips added: 29
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/4/04 10:08 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 4 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I was making the plastic bags when it occured that I wasn't having foot drag trouble, but table drag! I was binding the edge in twill tape so the foot was great. I had to sew slowly, though, to keep readjusting the plastic to the left of the foot. So, I took a piece of freezer paper (big piece) and put it plastic side down and plain paper side up over the sewing table, cutting a little hole for the thread. I taped it over the front and under the foot and over the back of the table. Voila.....the plastic slides along nicely. I had seen a "teflon" version, but didn't want to pay the price for something that 1) was expensive 2) I didn't use much and 3) would probably misplace between the time I bought and it the time I needed it. So, there you are, a non drag surface next to the machine that costs pennies!

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Astrostitcher said...
Bravo Janie! I love to save money! The best thing is with your technique you can get a drag-free surface any size you want, good for a quilter working on a large (machine bed level) surface. Thanks muchly.
1/7/05 3:51 AM
SewVeryTall said...
let's see if this comment goes to the end where it should be....see my 12-10-04 comment above ^
12/10/04 7:16 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Thanks Janie! That is a lot more reasonable than buying a teflon foot...and for $4, enough to do 20 feet [we could get 20 people together on this, and only pay 20 each + 37 stamp]. I know, lol, I'm beyond frugal!
Very reasonable price on the cookie sheet liners shown too...those Silpat [sp?] liners cost more than twice as much.
12/10/04 7:13 AM
Janie Viers said...
http://www.kapres.com/ptfe/ptfe.htm
12/9/04 10:56 AM
SewVeryTall said...
I hear ya Janie. I just googled the 'stickie back Teflon' to see where I could buy it, and it showed me Teflon tape that plumbers use...is that it? Do you remember where you saw this product sold by the foot?
12/8/04 5:46 AM
Janie Viers said...
You can get stickie back teflon by the foot to do that with. I was having more trouble with the plastic dragging along the table and throat plate!
12/7/04 12:02 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Janie...oh, ok, thanks for clarifying. I'm going to try this the next time I sew something 'sticky'. I was thinking about your tip, and I wonder if I could glue some freezer paper or parchment to the bottom of a presser foot to make it like Teflon foot. The extra feet for my machine are ridiculously expensive.
12/7/04 7:12 AM
Janie Viers said...
No, I meant I cut a little hole for the feed dogs and foot! That's one big "DUH" for me!
12/6/04 11:54 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Cool tip, thanks! I am understanding correctly, that you covered the feed dogs too? ["cutting a little hole for the thread"]
12/5/04 11:43 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Runaround Bag

Runaround Bag

Buy Now
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.