SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > better pattern folding

Viewed 5180 times
Posted by: bkool
photo

 
 
About bkool star
MD USA
Member since: 10/8/04
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/6/04 3:37 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 7 people   Very Helpful by 11 people   
Featured in the PR book!
This is a tip for those who (like myself) are organizationally challenged. It took me twenty years to think of this, but it's the sort of thing that many people probably do without thinking . Are you ready?
WHEN YOU FOLD UP YOUR PATTERN PIECES FOR STORAGE, ALWAYS MAKE EACH FOLD SO THAT THE WORDS WHICH IDENTIFY THE PIECE (E.G. 'SLEEVE,') ARE STILL FACING UP.
That way, when you forget a marking, or need for some other reason to go back and look at a certain pattern piece, you don't have to spend time unfolding and refolding a piece that turns out not to have been the one you wanted. You can already see which one is the one you wanted, because the identifying word is still visible; it's not hidden by having been folded into the interior.
This silly tip has actually saved me more minutes than I'd like to admit.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


12 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
I don't think it's a silly tip. I'm sure not everyone has thought of it - I know I didn't. Thanks for the tip.
12/6/04 5:26 PM
kempcor said...
Very good idea -- and I hadn't previously thought about it either. I can see where it would save time as well as frustration.
12/6/04 7:03 PM
sewfan said...
Great idea! Can't tell you how many times I have folded and unfolded pattern pieces looking for a particular piece.
12/6/04 8:05 PM
Annette H said...
It seems so obvious, but no, I hadn't thought of it --- thanks!
12/7/04 4:57 AM
PVA said...
I sure didn't think of this, & I've been sewing more years than I want to admit! (8^D) It's never too late, thank Heaven!
12/7/04 11:17 AM
Sherril Miller said...
You mean I don't HAVE to fold my pieces back on the very folds the manufacturer used? Great tip, thanks.
12/7/04 6:53 PM
pandoula said...
Great idea! I'm just getting back into sewing (at 49!!!) And this tip is NOT silly. Thank you for posting what some may think of as "too simple" Life really is in the details, isn't it?
12/9/04 2:56 PM
Carolankr said...
love it!
1/1/05 10:20 AM
Shelai said...
I guess I had it backwards--I often scribble "sleeve!" etc. in marker on whichever part ends up on top after folding. Maybe I'll save a few seconds your way. Thanks.
4/6/05 1:45 PM
ANGEL STARR said...
very good tip - sure will save me time.
8/18/05 9:15 AM
inkyannie said...
What a great idea! I never would have thought of it. I never get through a project without going back to at least one pattern piece. This will be a real time saver. Thanks!
10/18/05 0:22 AM
chick3y said...
i'm probably over-organized but- I always put the pattern pieces in numerical order so that I can easily locate which pieces to cut out for a particular problem. I got tired of digging through 36 pieces for that one elusive piece :)
12/8/05 5:22 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

The City Bag

The City Bag

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.