Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Hand winding a bobbin by machine (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5844 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Posted by: Janie Viers
photo
Friend of PR
About Janie Viers star
OH USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 61
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 5 people
tips added: 29
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/9/04 11:35 AM
Featured in the PR book!
I was so confused when I used to hear "hand wound bobbin". I spent months holding the bobbin in one hand and winding the thread around and around and around and, as Yul Brenner used to say, Etcetera, Etcetera, Etcetera! I use so many bobbins of thread that I would actually take the spool and the bobbins to the family room to wind while I watched TV! I finally reallized I could get the same even effect by using my machine to hold the thread and the bobbin, BUT run the machine slowly to wind slowly and hand hold the thread rather than let it go through the guide. I haven't had a problem with this method, which I have used for decorative ribbon and yarn to use in bobbin work as well as plain old thread!

So, slowly run the machine and hand guide the thread.

Janiev
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewVeryTall said...
Good tip, lots more control this way.
12/10/04 7:31 AM
bkool said...
Under what circumstances should a bobbin be "hand wound.?"
12/10/04 10:45 AM
Janie Viers said...
You should really hand wind all thread. It keeps the tension correct. If you just fill the bobbin from the machine at top speed the thread can be pulled too tight and too uneven...enough to cause tension problems or thread breakage. By controling the thread with your hand you can do a wind without concern it's too tight. So, to answer your question, "all circumstances"!
12/10/04 12:02 PM
bkool said...
Thank you. I did not know that.
12/11/04 7:56 AM
SewVeryTall said...
I am compelled to update my 12/10 comment, because of other comments here.
This is a good tip for things that NEED to be hand wound, like stretchy wooly nylon thread, nylon or poly invisible thread, and unusual bobbin work embellishments like skinny ribbon or yarn.
To mislead beginners by saying that ALL THREAD should be hand wound is just plain wrong. The bobbin winder on Janie's machine may be defective, so she needs to do this on "all thread", but for proper tension of regular sewing thread, it SHOULD be done on the machine's bobbin winder. I have been winding bobbins on the machine for over 40 years and I've never had a problem.
12/12/04 0:34 AM
Karla Kizer said...
I hand-wind only specialty threads - ribbon thread, Wooly Nylon, Polyarn, etc. My everyday sewing thread gets the customary quick spin through the sewing machine's bobbin winder. If I had to hand-wind ALL thread, I'd stop sewing and take up something more fun - and just about anything would qualify.
12/12/04 12:52 PM
Mini said...
I have been sewing for many years, and have never had to hand wind my bobbins. Like Karla, I would have quit sewing long ago! It may be necessary for wooly nylon or other secialty threads, but a sewing machine in good working order should be able to wind bobbins evenly when using normal thread. It is important to follow your machine manual's instructions for the correct type of bobbin, and use the recommended speed. My Janome manual says to use the lowest speed, and to use the same size of plastic bobbins that came with the machine. I do use my fingers if I see the thread getting out of balance, but it has rarely happened. If it happens a lot, the machine should be checked by a technician.
12/12/04 1:48 PM
NancyDaQ said...
I would only use this technique for specialty threads. If a machine is in good working order and you follow the instructions in the manual, you should be able to get good results with your machine's bobbin winder. I have used several different brands of machines over the years and have never had problems with the bobbin winding too tightly, unevenly, or breaking threads unless I had the machine threaded wrong.
12/13/04 2:13 PM
candyo said...
LOL Karla- agreed!
12/13/04 8:10 PM
LiZ said...
On both of the machines that I have and ones that I have owned previously owned there is a little disc that the thread goes through before before the bobbin. this is a tension disc and can be adjusted with a screwdriver. I loosen this when winding woolly nylon and it can be wound on loosely by machine. I have used it for lots fo twin needle hemming on cotton lycra skirts and tops and the hem is very stretchy with no complaints of broken hems.
1/5/06 12:53 PM
Schaz said...
I decided to try elastic thread, which the tips online say you should hand wind on the bobbin. I was not looking forward to it, so I'm glad I looked here and found an easier method than "holding the bobbin in one hand and winding the thread around and around"!
6/20/09 6:16 PM
jo123 said...
Thanks for the tip.
9/14/10 9:55 AM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us