SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Prevent twin needle tunneling

Viewed 5602 times
Posted by: Jackie M
photo

 
 
About Jackie M starstarstar
MN
Member since: 2/21/03
Reviews written: 71
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 53 people
tips added: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/13/04 4:49 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 8 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I have a coverstitch machine, but sometimes it's just easier to use my twin needle.

To prevent tunneling on knit tops, I serge/zigzag clear elastic (width of elastic = width of hem, if possible) to the wrong side of the hem, then turn and topstitch with the twin needle on the right side. The elastic provides the extra "beef" needed to prevent tunneling, plus it keeps the hem from getting too wavy or stretched out. The clear elastic doesn't seem to add any visible bulk on most knits. I like this finish so much better than the Steam-a-Seam 2 or wash away stabilizer techniques -- I just can't seem to get those techniques right, and I've found the elastic to be much more stable.

I also use this technique on my gym clothes, but I'll often use poly knit elastic as it's available in wider widths than clear elastic and is a better match for the thick, sturdy knits I use in my workout tops.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
sheree said...
Great tip, Jackie! This sounds like it would do the trick...I'll have to try it.
12/13/04 8:48 PM
dvazz said...
This sounds like a great idea! One question: you say width of elastic = width of hem..I've only seen clear elastic in 1/4 and 3/8 inches. Do you buy it wider, or are the hems really this narrow?
12/13/04 10:51 PM
Jackie M said...
dvazz, I've been lucky enough to find wide clear elastic -- up to 3/4", so yes, in those cases, the wider elastic goes with the wider hem ...
12/13/04 10:54 PM
SewVeryTall said...
It's so nice to know you can get clear elastic up to 3/4" wide, thanks Jackie, I'll be on the lookout for it.
12/14/04 10:26 AM
Stitchology said...
Jackie please tell us where you've found the extra wide clear elastic.
12/14/04 11:30 AM
Jackie M said...
The wide clear elastic is from Sherrie's co-op -- "sewingsupplycoop" on Yahoo groups.
12/14/04 8:03 PM
drsue said...
Do you think stretch lace would work too? Its easier to find in wide widths.
12/15/04 9:42 AM
firstmate said...
I like this idea a lot! Much neater than the paper stabilizer.
3/31/05 11:25 AM
Chelsy said...
hi i just purchased my coverstitch and inspite of the best advice - i think i got a lemon and have to send it in for repairs; so, i'll try the twin needle on my Singer instead!
5/5/07 10:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.