SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Mock coverstitching

Viewed 5273 times
Posted by: Judy Williment
photo

 
 
About Judy Williment starstarstar
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 88
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 63 people
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/16/04 7:15 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 5 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
I love the look of coverstitched seams, but there won't be a coverstitch machine in my life any time soon, so in one of those lightbulb moments that change your life, I came up with this. (Apologies to anyone else who thought of it years ago! ).
First I sew the seam with the pieces wrong sides together, then open them out, and topstitch down the protruding overlocked seam with matching thread as closely as possible to the edge.
It's very quick, easy and neat, and looks great on sporty garments and fabrics, like the velour top I photographed it on.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
pacificprincess said...
I too love the look of coverstitched seams, however, am not as innovative as you. Way to go! I will definitely try this.
1/22/07 1:20 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
do you have to loosen the tension to open the seam up like this? I have never tried this ... maybe a new tecnique for the contest!
2/4/06 1:16 PM
Judy Williment said...
Moushka, sorry I wasn't clear enough! I should have said that I stitch the seam with a four thread overlock first, then topstitch with a regular straight stitch on the sewing machine, slightly stretching as I go.
2/3/06 11:29 PM
moushka said...
Judy, that looks very professional. When you write "sew the seam with the pieces wrong sides together," do you mean serge/overlock the seam with a three-thread serger seam? I'm assuming you are using a serger for the initial seam? TIA
5/25/05 7:28 AM
katieb said...
great idea and photo, thanks for the extra tips Karla.
12/19/04 2:35 PM
Karla Kizer said...
I saw this idea in a serger book many years ago, before coverstitch machines were available to us home-sewing types. It works very well and looks great. Thanks so much for reminding me about it. One reminder: because the front and the back of a serged seam look different, think very carefully about which direction to sew in so that you and push the seam in the right direction when you topstitch. Example: to do it on pants sideseams, you'd have to stitch one side top to bottom and one side bottom to top so you can press both seam allowances toward the back before you topstitch and have the finished seams look identical. And doing the topstitching with invisible thread is an option, too.
12/19/04 7:21 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice suggestion. I do have a coverstitch on my serger but sometimes it is so fiddly to get it right. I will give this a try.
12/17/04 5:46 AM
Astrostitcher said...
I'm in the same boat - would love one of those machines. Thanks for the tip and the great photo!
12/17/04 2:22 AM
Aless said...
Fabulous for we coverstitch deprived sewing nuts!
12/16/04 10:25 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.