SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Cheap cutting table

Viewed 5324 times
Posted by: MaryLynn in Long Beach
photo

 
 
About MaryLynn in Long Beach star
CA USA
Member since: 7/2/04
Reviews written: 36
Favored by: 23 people
tips added: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/28/04 2:13 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 10 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
I’m old and cranky and have a bad back, so I craved a cutting table, a nice big cutting table. Two problems stood in my way – big problems. Well, actually, they are problems of having too little…too little money and too little space.

My solution? Two ironing boards and a piece of 3/8 inch plywood that I had cut at Home Depot to exactly fit under my cardboard cutting pad. Most lumber yards/home centers will cut your plywood for free. I paid less than $25 US for the ironing board and plywood, combined and fits behind doors. I set it up in the living room and take it down when DH wants to watch TV. It’s the right height, but adjustable and I can get around on all four sides.

It would have cost less if I had been willing to wait and gotten the ironing board at a yard sale or resale shop. Patience has never been my long suit. One of these days I may get around to padding it, too.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Kris32 said...
Oooh! A+ idea. I have been trying to figure out how to get my cutting mat off of the floor, and this may do the trick. DH and kiddos just got me a second ironing board for Christmas. (Yes, I asked for it.) Do you find it slides around on top of the ironing boards... or does it stick to them when you cut?
12/28/04 4:45 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Kris, It's heavy enough that it doesn't slide around at all. Actually, I have to be careful when I put the board on because it doesn't slide very well and if I'm not careful I make an ironing board tippy. When you put the board on, it works best if you are midway between the ironing boards and the plywood board edge perpindicular to the ironing boards.
12/28/04 5:46 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
I have also seen old doors used for the same purpose. You might get them cheap at building recyclers or salvage yards.
12/28/04 6:52 PM
joan said...
I used this method several years until I got a 'real" cutting table. My adult son was the one who had the idea, one day while listening to me complain about the low height of the dining room table that I was using. I found I couldn't get the two ironing boards adjusted to exactly the same height, so I had to use some shims under the board on the low side. For covering I stapled on a couple of layers of an old cotton mattress pad and covered that with an old worn sheet. It worked great for several years. By the way marylynn, just a couple of weeks ago I gave the extra ironing board to Goodwill. Too bad you coulda' had the really cheap cutting table. I just live a few hundred miles up the road in San Jose.
12/28/04 8:14 PM
Georgene said...
Very smart solution! I have a proper cutting table, but would highly recommend this idea for anyone who doesn't. Having the right height table makes all the difference in the world, not to mention being able to walk all the way around it.
12/29/04 9:35 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Great tip...adjustable and portable. Your back deserves this.
12/29/04 3:00 PM
j222b said...
I lift my folding card table (legs down) on top of my ironing board. It's tippy as heck, LOL, but it works nicely as a cutting surface for me, and is better than cutting on the floor. This tippy table technique would not be good if you have small children about!
2/4/05 9:20 PM
Gigi Louis said...
What a great, and inexpensive, idea!
2/5/05 4:37 PM
lornakismet said...
Hey, I can do this. Please, what are the dimensions of your 3/8" plywood? Just big enough to accomodate a big cardboard mat for cutting patterns? And you could actually have 2 or 3 lengths and join them with brass hinges so you could fold them and tuck them away into the closet. Thanks for sharing this tip. -LornaKismet (Lorna A.)
4/30/06 10:48 PM
Raye of Sonshine said...
MaryLynn, what a great idea! May have to do the same as my room is quite small. I have a dresser in here to keep my sewing stuff and the plywood could stand behind that! Thanks!!!
3/6/08 10:29 PM
wendalia said...
I live in a tiny tiny house (20 x 23'), but I have an ironing board upstairs and one downstairs and it never occured to me to make a table this way.
3/9/09 10:44 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Joplin Pullover Pattern

Sewing Workshop Joplin Pullover Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.