SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Sew Standing Up

Viewed 5251 times
Posted by: j222b
photo

 
 
About j222b
CA USA
Member since: 12/28/04
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/30/04 12:53 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 3 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I sew standing up. Im about 56 and sew at my serger and sew machine standing up at a laundry counter that is about 37 high. Sewing when standing makes it easy to get to iron board or to stop sewing for a while and do laundry or make beds etc. I seem to get more sewing time in when I sew standing. My little grand-DDs sew at my laundry counter, too, and do not have any trouble at all. Give it a try!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
licarritc said...
I thought I was the only one that did that! I have a bad back and the up and down is harder than just standing. I actually started doing this while I was studying architecture and goused to standing at the drefting table.
12/31/04 7:00 AM
Deepika said...
Interesting idea.. I have a bad back too.
12/31/04 7:24 AM
Georgene said...
I once had my serger on a tall table where I could stand and sew. It worked really well, and I felt liek I could go really a lot faster for some reason.
12/31/04 7:29 AM
mClones said...
I'm just setting up my own sewing space (hooray!) so I'm going to try that. What a timely tip. Thanks....
12/31/04 7:31 AM
SueV said...
I sew while serging and it is so much easier. I do sit at the regular machine, but only because that's how it is set up. But yes, it is better for the back to sew standing, I think. Thanks for the tip
12/31/04 10:48 AM
LSBCATS3 said...
A novel idea!
12/31/04 11:08 AM
Annette H said...
I will give it a try!
12/31/04 12:22 PM
Mini said...
LOL I also though I was the only one! I put my serger or portable machine on a cardboard cutting table. Handling big fabric pieces just seems easier when standing.
12/31/04 4:30 PM
SewVeryTall said...
As I read your tip, I started imagining how I could raise my machine higher [lots], and had to laugh at myself...my machine is in its own cabinet.
I have adjusted my cabinet by putting wheels under the legs to raise it a few inches for my height.
Thanks for the interesting idea, wish I could try it.
1/2/05 6:50 AM
sewfairy said...
brilliant idea, i will give it a try as it will not aggravate my painful back, luckily for me my machine can run without a foot pedal
9/3/09 6:33 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.