SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Ebay for Snoop Shopping/ Design research

Viewed 5148 times
Posted by: licarritc
photo

 
 
About licarritc star
Member since: 9/7/04
Reviews written: 43
Favored by: 16 people
tips added: 2
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/1/05 1:00 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 4 people   
Web site/URL: photo
This will come in handy for the "knock off" contest. I do alot of my designer research on ebay. It sounds crazy but they sell tons of designer clothes and bags. Because the sellers need to show plenty of pictures of every angle you get alot more info than you would from a book or the designer/ Manufacturer's website. For stuff on Zoran, for example, there isn't anywhere else to look. I'm in the process of making a knockoff Birkin bag from a Vogue pattern but the patterns handle's are way too long and there are other details that would make it stand out as homemade. By typing in Birkin I got to look at dozens of bags and lots of detail shots including measurements and hardware. Okay, so nobody is going to mistake mine for the real thing, but it'll look pretty good none the same. Next time you're making something try it, you won't believe how much info is there waiting to be picked up and it won't cost you a thing!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
gh380 said...
excellant idea !
1/5/05 8:44 AM
Gigi Louis said...
I do the same thing! I can spend hours online looking through clothes!
1/5/05 8:28 AM
StitchQueen101 said...
Excellent Tip! Thanks! I use ebay a lot for ideas, marketing research, and of course shopping.
1/4/05 10:54 PM
StitchQueen101 said...
I use ebay a lot for ideas, marketing research, and of course shopping.
1/4/05 10:53 PM
Mandolin82 said...
Great hint!
1/3/05 10:43 AM
Karen Bowers said...
i do this, too!
1/2/05 3:18 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Thanks for the tip, looking at good pics of designer fashions can really give my creative imagination a jumpstart.
1/2/05 7:02 AM
Mini said...
P.S. The Ebay vendors often give finished measurements for garments-VERY helpful.
1/1/05 3:20 PM
Mini said...
Yes!! I go to Ebay all the time. I starting using it to research salwar kameez and other Asian fashions. Now I study the designer fashion auctions often. I too am an armchair Zoran fan-I will never see these in my area, and couldn't afford (or fit into) them if I did, but Ebay gives me a rough idea of how to make knock-offs that I am happy with.
1/1/05 3:19 PM
Georgene said...
Yesss! What a great idea, especially for our friend Zoran, whose clothes you are unlikely to find at a store near you.
1/1/05 1:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Travel Trio One

Christine Jonson Travel Trio One

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.