SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Ebay for Snoop Shopping/ Design research

Viewed 5111 times
Posted by: licarritc
photo

 
 
About licarritc star
Member since: 9/7/04
Reviews written: 43
Favored by: 16 people
tips added: 2
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/1/05 1:00 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 4 people   
Web site/URL: photo
This will come in handy for the "knock off" contest. I do alot of my designer research on ebay. It sounds crazy but they sell tons of designer clothes and bags. Because the sellers need to show plenty of pictures of every angle you get alot more info than you would from a book or the designer/ Manufacturer's website. For stuff on Zoran, for example, there isn't anywhere else to look. I'm in the process of making a knockoff Birkin bag from a Vogue pattern but the patterns handle's are way too long and there are other details that would make it stand out as homemade. By typing in Birkin I got to look at dozens of bags and lots of detail shots including measurements and hardware. Okay, so nobody is going to mistake mine for the real thing, but it'll look pretty good none the same. Next time you're making something try it, you won't believe how much info is there waiting to be picked up and it won't cost you a thing!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Georgene said...
Yesss! What a great idea, especially for our friend Zoran, whose clothes you are unlikely to find at a store near you.
1/1/05 1:55 PM
Mini said...
Yes!! I go to Ebay all the time. I starting using it to research salwar kameez and other Asian fashions. Now I study the designer fashion auctions often. I too am an armchair Zoran fan-I will never see these in my area, and couldn't afford (or fit into) them if I did, but Ebay gives me a rough idea of how to make knock-offs that I am happy with.
1/1/05 3:19 PM
Mini said...
P.S. The Ebay vendors often give finished measurements for garments-VERY helpful.
1/1/05 3:20 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Thanks for the tip, looking at good pics of designer fashions can really give my creative imagination a jumpstart.
1/2/05 7:02 AM
Karen Bowers said...
i do this, too!
1/2/05 3:18 PM
Mandolin82 said...
Great hint!
1/3/05 10:43 AM
StitchQueen101 said...
I use ebay a lot for ideas, marketing research, and of course shopping.
1/4/05 10:53 PM
StitchQueen101 said...
Excellent Tip! Thanks! I use ebay a lot for ideas, marketing research, and of course shopping.
1/4/05 10:54 PM
Gigi Louis said...
I do the same thing! I can spend hours online looking through clothes!
1/5/05 8:28 AM
gh380 said...
excellant idea !
1/5/05 8:44 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.