SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Cleaning sewing room

Viewed 5236 times
Posted by: NanJones
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About NanJones
TX USA
Member since: 10/16/02
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/4/05 0:32 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   
Featured in the PR book!
This is really a word of warning to all. Before you vaccuum your sewing room please be sure that at the very least all your spools of thread are off the floor, especially the invisible thread spool. I thought I had them all up when I smelled something burning around my vaccuum. Needless to say I had to buy a new vaccuum. The only thing good that came out of this is that I got rid of a vaccuum cleaner that I absolutely hated.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


12 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
VtMartha said...
Well, gramma J, I always use my shop vac to clean my central vac ;-)
2/27/05 7:56 PM
gramma J said...
now, tips are needed on how to clean a vacuum.
1/24/05 11:45 AM
NanJones said...
Trust me, it wasn't the belt. More than half of a large spool of invisible thread got pulled into the vac, melted the part of the machine that holds the beater bar. No way to fix it.
1/6/05 5:43 PM
koo104 said...
Shop Vacs are the way to go in the workroom. They can pick up all kinds of large items and won't jam up. More than likely it might just be the vacuum belt you smelled. they are cheap and easy to replace if you wanted to.
1/6/05 11:16 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Serendipity!
1/6/05 8:25 AM
Nancy Anne said...
I have never vacuumed the actual spool, but I have gotten the loose end of the thread from a spool sucked up in my vacuum. The beater bar unraveled it from the spool. I got the burning smell as well, but it didn't ruin the vacuum, thank heavens! The beater bar can't rotate properly when there is a spool of thread wrapped around the end of it.
1/5/05 8:43 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Maybe that's why Nan hated this vacuum, since it can pick up something so large? Both my vacs, canister and upright, couldn't pick up a spool of thread, they'd just push it around.
1/5/05 0:21 AM
Georgene said...
Give me a bare floor anytime for a sewing room. At least then you can tie a magnetic wrist pin holder to the end of your tapemeasure and 'sweep' the floor for pins every so often. I got a big rats' nest in my vacuum tube from pins getting stuck in there and all the threads catching on the pins. Picking pins out of the wall-to-wall carpet is not fun.
1/4/05 10:52 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Eep! Well at least you were able to get the vacuum cleaner that you wanted. Pins have a horrid habit of jumping onto my wall to wall carpet.
1/4/05 7:39 PM
Gigi Louis said...
I'll keep that in mind when I want a new vacuum cleaner. Yikes!
1/4/05 6:19 PM
PhyllisC said...
It's happened to me - my sewing room has wall-to-wall carpeting, and a few times clear plastic bobbins (which are almost invisible on the carpet) have jammed my vac.
1/4/05 8:53 AM
SewVeryTall said...
You vacuumed up a spool of thread? I'm surprised that that's even possible while doing the floors.
1/4/05 3:28 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.