SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > What to do with the pieces of fabric.

Viewed 5266 times
Posted by: Iris
photo

 
 
About Iris
MEXICO
Member since: 9/23/02
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/11/02 2:05 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
Featured in the PR book!
During the year I've been cuting the rests of fabric that are not enough to do a complete cloth in pieces of 5" width any large.
I've choose similar fabric and coordinate colors to make some patchwork blankets to give as a gift to people could need.
and I've used the other that doesn't have any similar kind of fabric or color to do blankets for a place where the animals that don't have owner are. (sorry, I donīt know the word in English).
(I feel I've used all the fabric I bought well. ;))

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Everyday Sewist said...
Hi Iris, it's called an animal shelter. They usually don't have a lot of money to buy things for the animals, so I'm sure they appreciated your work. I've thought about doing patchwork too. I save my fabric scraps but I never know what to do with them.
12/11/02 4:12 PM
Lou. said...
I know of some animal shelters that could do with blankets if anyone needs somewhere to send them.
12/11/02 5:02 PM
New2Oki said...
Iris, what a wonderful idea! I've got a pile of scraps that I won't throw out because I hate to waste them. How large do you make your animal blankets?
12/12/02 11:40 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
Hello Iris, you have a very warm heart. I'm also sending old blankets and such stuff to animal shelter, they really need that stuff.
12/12/02 5:27 PM
Iris said...
Thanks Girls, In reference to the final size, I try to made larger than 48 x 32", but If there are some shorter, It doesnīt matter because in the animal shelter are many cats or little dogs, and They really appreciate any kind of help as little it be.
12/12/02 8:14 PM
Tonya said...
Great idea - I have tons of scraps I don't know what to do with. There are dog and cat blanket/coat patterns (some reviewed on PR too)- I'd bet you could piece enough fabric together to cut one out.
1/3/03 11:11 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Buy Now
Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.