SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Keep most used pattern pieces separated but together

Viewed 5227 times
Posted by: Janie Viers
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Janie Viers star
OH USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 61
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 5 people
tips added: 29
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/12/05 11:48 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 4 people   
Featured in the PR book!
If you have a favorite sewn item to make from a particular pattern, don't put the pattern pieces in the middle with the rest of the pattern pieces in the envelope...just fold the parts you use separately and stick them into the envelope with the instructions around them so that you don't have to take out EVERY pattern piece to find the few you use! (ask me how many times in the last week I have had to unfold and refold a zillion pieces of pattern because I was in a hurry before Christmas and just grabbed the pile of pieces from a particular pattern and shoved them in the evelope before overnight guests came to stay?)

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Allisonsews said...
Thanks for this one -- I took your advice after I read it last month and it has saved me a great deal of aggravation when making a new version of my pattern!
5/28/05 9:42 AM
GaSouBelle said...
thanks to tips from others, i recently took an evening to organize my patterns. I stocked up at Joann's $.99 sale & found the pattern envelope's too thick when looking for inspiration. another member suggested separating the envelopes & pattern pieces...and this works great for me. I put my envelopes in a 3 ring binder in clear sheet protectors I already had. So now I have a much thinner design/inspiration notebook to flip thru. I also included the instructions so I could flip thru to see if the pattern would be quick-n-easy or more challenging...this way I could decide what I wanted to sew without dragging the whole pattern out. I put pattern pieces in zip loc bags & organized in numerical order. I went a step further as Janie suggested. With wardrobe patterns, I put the skirt pieces in one envelope, pants in another, and I also separate my bodice & sleeve pieces. I've found that I either love the sleeve but hate the bodice or vice versa. sounds like a lot of bags...i know...but it really isn't bag. well worth the time & frustration it saves when starting a new project. i've been putting hearts on the bags of my favorite pieces, but now that my box is growing larger...you've given me the idea to put some of my favorites into a smaller box so I can carry them with me when I travel to my mom's. I probaly should have posted this as a separte tip, but since they are so similar I thought I'd just post it here. Thanks for the extra inspiration.
2/2/05 1:34 AM
Georgene said...
I now have a collection of ziplocs in different sizes in the studio. I use them to put the patterns in with some pieces separated out in to smaller ziplocs within the larger bag. That way the pieces I need are ready to hand, and I can see all the instructions and envelope easily inside. My new favorite is the 2 gallon size.
1/14/05 2:28 AM
SewTwin said...
Good Tip! This is my regular practice now; plus any changes, notes, and copies of my measurements at that time. This explains why it fit differently later, since my measurements keep going up and down.The great thing is I don't have to fold a cut pattern back to the wierd way they must send those people to a special school, cause I never want to fold it that way again.
1/14/05 1:32 AM
Kathy Russell said...
i agree this site has so many plus'- It's better than taking a class.
1/13/05 0:15 AM
casey said...
this is one of the reasons I LOVE this site . A sewer who understands the process.To take out the pattern and get started in the creative mood you don't need any frustation at the start Thanks for a great tip Janie
1/12/05 10:14 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

More Info
THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.