SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Lettuce Edge from a Beginner

Viewed 6073 times
Posted by: PixieCat
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About PixieCat star
OH USA
Member since: 5/5/04
Reviews written: 66
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/13/05 5:47 PM
Last Updated: 3/30/07 6:08 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 12 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
I'm new to sergers so everything is a learning experience with my Huskylock 905. Lettuce edges seemed fairly easy but it still took awhile my first time. I learned that there are a couple different ways to achieve a lettuce edge, which is really just a rolled edge done on stretched fabric.

I used a mid-weight jersey knit, a stretch needle in the right position only, regular thread for the needle and wooly nylon in both loopers. I changed the tension guides for the loopers to D for decorative thread. It helps the wooly nylon feed better.

For both techniques, the stitch finger needs to be in the R position (it moves out of the way so the thread rolls directly onto the fabric). I used these settings:

Cutting width - normal
Stitch length - 1 mm
RN tension - normal
UL - 1 (if using wooly nylon, otherwise set at normal)
LL - 6

This is where the difference in techniques comes in and I tried them both. When not using differential feed, I stretched the fabric in front of and behind the presser foot while serging. When the tension on the fabric was released, the tightly stitched edge created a ripple.

Then I tried using differential feed by dropping it to the lowest level. Mine goes to .05. This way I didn't have to stretch the fabric, just guide it under the foot. The DF creates the ripple and, I believe, it's a much nicer look.

In the picture, the lower ripple was made by my stretching the fabric and appears to have sharper rolls. The upper ripple on the sleeve was made with DF and looks more wavy and flowing.

It's a fun and very easy way to finish an edge.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
iblondie said...
Thanks for this comparison! Even more experienced sewists can benefit from this great tecnique tip!
1/14/05 10:28 AM
KarenP said...
Very helpful, especially since I recently got a Huskylock 905! I will refer to this tip when I try my first lettuce edge.
1/14/05 5:57 PM
Lilibet said...
Thanks for the detailed explanation. I'm planning to refinish a RTW top with a rolled edge and as I haven't tried it before this tip is really helpful.
1/17/05 5:44 PM
JDpenelope said...
Another good description to get the best result. Thanks!
2/6/05 12:44 PM
RobinMCPA said...
That is a super helpful hint - I am going to do it with my Viking 936! Thanks!
6/10/08 1:31 PM
Tammy(TX) said...
Very helpful tip, thanks! I finished a shirt for my daughter and the lettuce edge looked sloppy. I found you rip and re-did them with the differential feed on .5 and they look much better. Thanks again!
11/23/08 0:46 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Buy Now
PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.