Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Lettuce Edge from a Beginner (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5775 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 12 people   
Posted by: PixieCat
photo
Friend of PR
About PixieCat star
OH USA
Member since: 5/5/04
Reviews written: 66
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/13/05 5:47 PM
Last Updated: 3/30/07 6:08 AM
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
I'm new to sergers so everything is a learning experience with my Huskylock 905. Lettuce edges seemed fairly easy but it still took awhile my first time. I learned that there are a couple different ways to achieve a lettuce edge, which is really just a rolled edge done on stretched fabric.

I used a mid-weight jersey knit, a stretch needle in the right position only, regular thread for the needle and wooly nylon in both loopers. I changed the tension guides for the loopers to D for decorative thread. It helps the wooly nylon feed better.

For both techniques, the stitch finger needs to be in the R position (it moves out of the way so the thread rolls directly onto the fabric). I used these settings:

Cutting width - normal
Stitch length - 1 mm
RN tension - normal
UL - 1 (if using wooly nylon, otherwise set at normal)
LL - 6

This is where the difference in techniques comes in and I tried them both. When not using differential feed, I stretched the fabric in front of and behind the presser foot while serging. When the tension on the fabric was released, the tightly stitched edge created a ripple.

Then I tried using differential feed by dropping it to the lowest level. Mine goes to .05. This way I didn't have to stretch the fabric, just guide it under the foot. The DF creates the ripple and, I believe, it's a much nicer look.

In the picture, the lower ripple was made by my stretching the fabric and appears to have sharper rolls. The upper ripple on the sleeve was made with DF and looks more wavy and flowing.

It's a fun and very easy way to finish an edge.
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
iblondie said...
Thanks for this comparison! Even more experienced sewists can benefit from this great tecnique tip!
1/14/05 10:28 AM
KarenP said...
Very helpful, especially since I recently got a Huskylock 905! I will refer to this tip when I try my first lettuce edge.
1/14/05 5:57 PM
Lilibet said...
Thanks for the detailed explanation. I'm planning to refinish a RTW top with a rolled edge and as I haven't tried it before this tip is really helpful.
1/17/05 5:44 PM
JDpenelope said...
Another good description to get the best result. Thanks!
2/6/05 12:44 PM
RobinMCPA said...
That is a super helpful hint - I am going to do it with my Viking 936! Thanks!
6/10/08 1:31 PM
Tammy(TX) said...
Very helpful tip, thanks! I finished a shirt for my daughter and the lettuce edge looked sloppy. I found you rip and re-did them with the differential feed on .5 and they look much better. Thanks again!
11/23/08 0:46 AM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us