Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Attached Elastic Waistband from a Beginner (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 9549 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 29 people   
Posted by: PixieCat
photo
Friend of PR
About PixieCat star
OH USA
Member since: 5/5/04
Reviews written: 66
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/13/05 5:55 PM
Last Updated: 5/14/06 7:03 AM
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
I like the look of this waistband because the gathers are even and they don't shift from wearing or in the wash. This is one of the easiest new techniques I've tried so far.

I used a stretch needle, regular thread, pants ready for the waistband (center seam, crotch, and side seams done) and sew-through elastic. I used 1 1/4" wide elastic meant for pajamas since that's what I was making.

1. I measured a piece of elastic that fit comfortably around my waist, added 1" for overlapping the edges, then deducted 3" to allow for the elastic to stretch when it's stitched.

2. Overlap the edges of the elastic and stitch together. I stitch in a square (the edges of the overlap) and then X across the center.

3. Fold the elastic in half lengthwise twice and mark each fold with a pin to mark the quarter points on the elastic.

4. Do the same with the waistband edge.

5. (I found it easier to do this next step with the pants right side out.) Pin the elastic to the wrong side of the pants having the edge of the elastic even with the edge of the pants waistband edge and matching the pin placements. The elastic should be smaller than the pants. Pin in place.

6. Place the elastic and fabric, with elastic side up, under the presser foot at a pin point and take a few stitches. I used a 3-thread serger but believe it could be done with a wide zig zag stitch too. I was extra careful to not nick the elastic with the serger cutting blade.

7. Stop and take a firm hold of the fabric and elastic at a point just beyond the next pin. Pull both toward you until the fabric under the elastic is straight but not stretched.

8. Hold that stretch and stitch to the next pin. (Don't forget to remove the pins before you hit the cutting blade if using a serger.)

9. Repeat until the entire strip of elastic is sewn to the waist edge.

10. Turn the waistband down toward the wrong side, encasing the elastic. This is to prepare to stitch down the center of the zig zag (at least that's what I did) with a straight stitch.

11. I started at where the center back seam lined-up. Take a few stitches then stretch until the fabric is straight. I regularly pushed up on the edge of the elastic to be sure it was snug against the inside top edge of the waistband (the fold). Stitch around the entire waistband using this method.

That's it!

I reduced the comfortable waist measurement on the elastic by 2" because the elastic will stretch-out as it's stitched. If it stretches too much, try a few bursts of steam to shrink it back down a bit.

This technique creates even gathers throughout the waistband that won't shift out of place. It's comfortable too!


Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annie- oh said...
I love the real detail here - thank you so much - your 2 elastic tips are this morning's project - then on to those piles lying around that aren't finished because I did not want to mess up the elastic!
1/14/05 9:06 AM
KarenP said...
I recently discovered this technique and I love it! Your directions and pictures are excellent. I've only done this on a regular sewing machine with a zig-zag, but I got a serger for Christmas and can't wait to try this technique on my new serger.
1/14/05 5:49 PM
sewkal said...
I'm going to print out your tip next time I sew in an elastic waist- mine never look that neat! Thanks for the great tip.
1/15/05 11:47 AM
AlmaJoly said...
Great description and pictures. Thanks for the clear directions.
1/16/05 10:05 AM
Mommo said...
Very helpful review--I'm encouraged to try this technique--Thanks!
1/22/05 8:35 AM
JDpenelope said...
Good job describing this technique--one I also used recently. I like all of your details and will print this out as a reminder next time I sew an elastic band.
2/6/05 12:42 PM
Ying said...
Looks like a ready-to-wear seams. I'll try this on all my elastic sewing now. The pictures were very helpful.
5/11/05 7:22 PM
fesnina said...
I was taught this technique when I sewed my first pair of pants in my beginner's sewing class which was only a few months ago. It works great and I get a beautiful result even for a beginner.
7/24/05 6:18 PM
thaiyal said...
You've described it very nicely and atlast, I understood how to do a FOE. :) Thanks for the review and the pictures to go with it.
11/18/05 10:20 AM
PattyU said...
Awesome tip. Thanks, Lori.
5/18/06 10:50 AM
Mufffet said...
This is great. I haven't tried this because I had only read about it, not seen it. I still always do the casing. Well, after your tip, I am going to do it this way on the pants I am planning to make this summer! Thanks!
6/2/06 10:35 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Great tutorial. Most sergers let you move your knif out of the way. I recommend it so you won't accidently cut your elastic. You can use more pins too.
7/16/07 7:24 PM
overflow said...
thank you it's very helpful and it looks good and store brought Thank You
8/3/07 11:00 PM
AprilsZoo said...
Perfect explanation. I've never done elastic this way before, but I've thought about it. I wasn't sure it would really work, but seeing your pictures and reading thru your tutorial makes it look easy. I'll use this often now. Thanks!
2/10/08 4:33 PM
Renren said...
Here I am, reading this tip as I prepare to sew elastic in two pairs of PJs. Thanks!
2/18/09 10:41 AM
apeke said...
Very awesome tip.... I was just making a pair of comfy pajama bottoms today to try out my new sewing machine and serger and was always irritated on how the elastic band would either roll or shift during wash/wear...This is fabulous. Thank you for sharing this wonderful technique!
5/20/10 7:43 PM
Sew'n'go said...
Well done! The photos and text are clear and informative.
6/27/10 8:16 AM
strongnow said...
Thanks for this information. It is exactly what I need for my next pair of elastic waist pants.
3/23/12 10:16 AM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us