SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > recycle rotary cutter blades

Viewed 5348 times
Posted by: SewVeryTall
photo

 
 
About SewVeryTall starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/2/04
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 63 people
tips added: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/20/05 4:27 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
I've always wanted a professional paper cutter, but the cost was just too much for a "good one", plus they take up too much room. These are great for cropping photos, crafts, etc...anytime you want a perfectly straight and/or square cut on paper.

I used one of my % off coupons at Joann's to purchase a second rotary cutter, one the same size as my first. I wrote "Paper" on both sides of the older handle with a magic marker, so the 2 cutters can't get mixed up.

The beauty of this is, paper doesn't need a blade as sharp and perfect as fabric, so you can use the old fabric blades that you'd normally discard. I love that I get to recycle the old blades.

I think using the gridded ruler and gridded mat for paper cutting might actually be easier and better than using a professional paper cutter...and it doesn't take up any valuable space in your house.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
flowermama said...
Thank you for this tip. Great recycling idea. Hmmm - maybe I could use this to cut out my patterns too.
1/20/05 10:13 AM
Astrostitcher said...
Ah! SewVeryTall has again "cut" to the action with this efficient and logical tip. I needed this as I cut lots of paper-based stuff, especially images, for my design scrap books and for school when doing paste-up for presentations or worksheets. And I love to recycle stuff like those expensive blades. Only comment I can add is the title of this tip should have been "Use for old rotary cutter blades" to appeal more to our Scotch instincts. Thanks SewVeryTall!
1/21/05 5:59 AM
candyo said...
Fiskars makes a paper trimmer for about $20- it's in the scrapbook section.
1/21/05 6:15 AM
SewVeryTall said...
so-so-sewer...you read my mind! I just came back here to change the title on this tip and saw your post...GMTA, lol.
1/21/05 6:51 AM
delnita said...
an efficient, frugal, and cleaver idea. thank you for sharing
1/22/05 7:27 AM
Sunnysewsit said...
What a great idea for cropping digitally printed photos, too!
1/23/05 1:47 PM
SewVeryTall said...
You're all welcome :) I wasn't sure if many people here would be interested in cutting paper, I'm glad I posted this.
I use my paper cutter a lot...to cut out my patterns, and on paper towels to use for "bird cage carpeting", hehe.
1/24/05 5:51 AM
annsew65 said...
SewVeryTall, we actually have a professional paper cutter, but when we started printing our own pictures, I ended up buying DH his own small cutting mat and rotary cutter. He actually likes it better than the paper cuttern - and it recycles those expensive blades that I hate to toss!
4/2/05 6:06 AM
annsew65 said...
SewVeryTall, we actually have a professional paper cutter, but when we started printing our own pictures, I ended up buying DH his own small cutting mat and rotary cutter. He actually likes it better than the paper cutter - and it recycles those expensive blades that I hate to toss!
4/2/05 6:07 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.