SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > recycle rotary cutter blades

Viewed 5365 times
Posted by: SewVeryTall
photo

 
 
About SewVeryTall starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/2/04
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 63 people
tips added: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/20/05 4:27 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
I've always wanted a professional paper cutter, but the cost was just too much for a "good one", plus they take up too much room. These are great for cropping photos, crafts, etc...anytime you want a perfectly straight and/or square cut on paper.

I used one of my % off coupons at Joann's to purchase a second rotary cutter, one the same size as my first. I wrote "Paper" on both sides of the older handle with a magic marker, so the 2 cutters can't get mixed up.

The beauty of this is, paper doesn't need a blade as sharp and perfect as fabric, so you can use the old fabric blades that you'd normally discard. I love that I get to recycle the old blades.

I think using the gridded ruler and gridded mat for paper cutting might actually be easier and better than using a professional paper cutter...and it doesn't take up any valuable space in your house.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
flowermama said...
Thank you for this tip. Great recycling idea. Hmmm - maybe I could use this to cut out my patterns too.
1/20/05 10:13 AM
Astrostitcher said...
Ah! SewVeryTall has again "cut" to the action with this efficient and logical tip. I needed this as I cut lots of paper-based stuff, especially images, for my design scrap books and for school when doing paste-up for presentations or worksheets. And I love to recycle stuff like those expensive blades. Only comment I can add is the title of this tip should have been "Use for old rotary cutter blades" to appeal more to our Scotch instincts. Thanks SewVeryTall!
1/21/05 5:59 AM
candyo said...
Fiskars makes a paper trimmer for about $20- it's in the scrapbook section.
1/21/05 6:15 AM
SewVeryTall said...
so-so-sewer...you read my mind! I just came back here to change the title on this tip and saw your post...GMTA, lol.
1/21/05 6:51 AM
delnita said...
an efficient, frugal, and cleaver idea. thank you for sharing
1/22/05 7:27 AM
Sunnysewsit said...
What a great idea for cropping digitally printed photos, too!
1/23/05 1:47 PM
SewVeryTall said...
You're all welcome :) I wasn't sure if many people here would be interested in cutting paper, I'm glad I posted this.
I use my paper cutter a lot...to cut out my patterns, and on paper towels to use for "bird cage carpeting", hehe.
1/24/05 5:51 AM
annsew65 said...
SewVeryTall, we actually have a professional paper cutter, but when we started printing our own pictures, I ended up buying DH his own small cutting mat and rotary cutter. He actually likes it better than the paper cuttern - and it recycles those expensive blades that I hate to toss!
4/2/05 6:06 AM
annsew65 said...
SewVeryTall, we actually have a professional paper cutter, but when we started printing our own pictures, I ended up buying DH his own small cutting mat and rotary cutter. He actually likes it better than the paper cutter - and it recycles those expensive blades that I hate to toss!
4/2/05 6:07 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.