SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Melting beeswax into your thread..........

Viewed 5236 times
Posted by: Nancy Anne
photo

 
 
About Nancy Anne star
TX USA
Member since: 11/26/04
Reviews written: 50
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
tips added: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/20/05 1:37 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 10 people   
Featured in the PR book!
This is actually a tip I learned from Sandra Betzina's "Sew Perfect" show on TV. (I miss that show!)

To keep your thread from knotting easily before hand-stitching, run it through beeswax. You can get the kind for sewing at Wal-mart for less than a dollar. You may have already known that. What you many NOT have known is that if you run a warm iron over it quickly after running it over the wax and before stitching, it makes the thread even more durable and you won't have a problem with it making irratating little wax balls on the surface of your fabric as you stitch.

If you've never used wax in your hand stitching, you will wonder how you got along without it once you start.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Jennifer shaw said...
Thanks for the reminder! In the costume shops that I worked in years ago, we would have prewaxed thread for hand work. The important thing was to press, the thread, so it would meld and make it stronger.
1/20/05 7:02 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Good tip...I miss Sew Perfect too!!
1/21/05 5:54 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
I use beeswax coated thread for all my handsewing. One additional piece of advice to add to this great tip - When you iron the wax into the thread, sandwich the thread between two layers of press cloth. That will keep wax residue off both your ironing board and iron. -Ann
1/21/05 9:41 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Where was this tip *before* I did all the handstitching on that suede jacket?!? ;-) Thanks so much for sharing. I'll definitely add this to my repetoire.
1/22/05 8:45 PM
drsue said...
yes, they really should emphasize in the books that you MUST do this. Most books I've read just say it's a good idea. It's acutally essential
1/25/05 10:31 PM
mamafitz said...
thread heaven does pretty much the same thing, but you don't have to press it with your iron. whether you use beeswax or thread heaven, it makes such a difference!
1/26/05 3:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Sew Liberated Aurelia Cardigan

Sew Liberated Aurelia Cardigan

Buy Now
THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.