SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > bobbin winding

Viewed 5618 times
Posted by: comocosews
photo

 
 
About comocosews
WI USA
Member since: 10/22/02
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Advanced
tips added: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/15/02 12:43 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Needs More Info by 1 people   Very Helpful by 26 people   
I read this at the sewing association site. I never realized this was so important, but it really is. Wind your bobbins slowly. When you wind them fast, the thread stretches, and you will wind up with puckered seams and seams that won't lie flat.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Maria Hatfield said...
thanks so much for posting this info. thats what i have been doing is winding them pretty fast. i also noticed too, that they tend to break more often too, when i wind them up fast. and i can bet thats why ! thanks for letting us know about this.
12/15/02 1:37 PM
texellence said...
Very helpful-so logical but I never thought about it. I have noticed thread breakage,too, and never thought about the bobbin thread being stretched as the culprit. Thanks for sharing this with us!
12/15/02 1:49 PM
Mel.J said...
I wonder if it depends on the type of thread?
12/16/02 6:34 AM
comocosews said...
Could be. There are probably some threads that don't lend to stretch.
12/16/02 11:59 AM
Kristi De Paul said...
That's great information. Will tell all my sewing friends. Thanks!
12/29/02 4:36 PM
pottsella said...
Cheryl, I also have FM so I understand....my biggest challenge is cutting out stuff, but I'm soon going to come up with some solution. I'm also planning on cutting two or three days a week and organizing my projects in labeled boxes so when I'm ready to sew, I can just pull it out and be ready to go. I wish I had a little cutting fairy!! Carol
1/4/03 3:10 AM
giggo said...
how do you wind sherring elastic on to a bobbin
2/24/06 5:43 AM
PJsplace said...
Good to know, I used to go as fast as the machine would let me, but the new Jamone 9700 sadly does not sew very fast, not like a good old gear driven singer.
2/6/07 11:02 PM
SilkyScissorHands said...
Boy! I'm having one of those "Duh" moments! Why didn't I think of that one?
11/17/10 1:19 AM
Lookingpast said...
Thanks! This is how I was taught and why I don't like the automatic bobbin winding machines--they only have one speed: FAST forward!
12/13/10 4:55 PM
bestgrammy said...
Good to be reminded about this!
6/13/11 4:58 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now
Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.