SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > bobbin winding

Viewed 5826 times
Posted by: comocosews
photo

 
 
About comocosews
WI USA
Member since: 10/22/02
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Advanced
tips added: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/15/02 12:43 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Needs More Info by 1 people   Very Helpful by 28 people   
I read this at the sewing association site. I never realized this was so important, but it really is. Wind your bobbins slowly. When you wind them fast, the thread stretches, and you will wind up with puckered seams and seams that won't lie flat.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
bestgrammy said...
Good to be reminded about this!
6/13/11 4:58 AM
Lookingpast said...
Thanks! This is how I was taught and why I don't like the automatic bobbin winding machines--they only have one speed: FAST forward!
12/13/10 4:55 PM
SilkyScissorHands said...
Boy! I'm having one of those "Duh" moments! Why didn't I think of that one?
11/17/10 1:19 AM
PJsplace said...
Good to know, I used to go as fast as the machine would let me, but the new Jamone 9700 sadly does not sew very fast, not like a good old gear driven singer.
2/6/07 11:02 PM
giggo said...
how do you wind sherring elastic on to a bobbin
2/24/06 5:43 AM
pottsella said...
Cheryl, I also have FM so I understand....my biggest challenge is cutting out stuff, but I'm soon going to come up with some solution. I'm also planning on cutting two or three days a week and organizing my projects in labeled boxes so when I'm ready to sew, I can just pull it out and be ready to go. I wish I had a little cutting fairy!! Carol
1/4/03 3:10 AM
Kristi De Paul said...
That's great information. Will tell all my sewing friends. Thanks!
12/29/02 4:36 PM
comocosews said...
Could be. There are probably some threads that don't lend to stretch.
12/16/02 11:59 AM
Mel.J said...
I wonder if it depends on the type of thread?
12/16/02 6:34 AM
texellence said...
Very helpful-so logical but I never thought about it. I have noticed thread breakage,too, and never thought about the bobbin thread being stretched as the culprit. Thanks for sharing this with us!
12/15/02 1:49 PM
Maria Hatfield said...
thanks so much for posting this info. thats what i have been doing is winding them pretty fast. i also noticed too, that they tend to break more often too, when i wind them up fast. and i can bet thats why ! thanks for letting us know about this.
12/15/02 1:37 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.