SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Lace Seam Binding - to tell which is back of pants

Viewed 5272 times
Posted by: bheath
photo

 
 
About bheath star
NC USA
Member since: 4/11/04
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/22/05 7:21 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 7 people   

I am not sure if this tip has ever been reviewed but when I sew simple straight pull-on elastic waist skirt or pants,
I sometimes have a hard time figuring out the back from the front of the garment so I take a small piece of seam binding lace (I keep some neutral colors on hand - white, black, taupe) and cut about 3" length and double it. I wedge this little 'loop' into the casing in the back and voila' - instant GPS for figuring out which way to put on my pants!

And it also adds a nice touch to the finished garment.


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
said...
Love it! I have used a marker, but this is so much nicer.
5/9/06 10:39 AM
Muria said...
I've actually used a small piece of the fabric as a marker for the back. Because most of what you see in the inside is the wrong side, a loop of right-side out fabric isn't hard to spot. I've thought about hem taping the last bit of the waistband too (just make sure you leave your elastic opening in the back), but haven't tried it to see. I've been sewing for 10 years, though, and only thought of this a year ago, so this is a great tip (think my 40+ sewing years mother still uses the crotch seams. I know she did when I was a kid. I always had to take my pants to her to figure out which way to put them on! ) Thanks!
5/16/05 11:57 PM
Elaine McKay said...
Great idea. I have used it with much success. Thanks.
3/1/05 3:32 PM
Nancy Anne said...
That is a wonderful idea! Why didn't I think of that?
1/23/05 1:30 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I have the same issue. Thank you for your helpful tip.
1/23/05 1:21 PM
Jan B. said...
This is a good tip. I use a piece of grosgrain ribbon for the same purpose.
1/23/05 10:44 AM
PixieCat said...
What a great idea! I usually have to look at the crotch length to tell front from back on pull-on slacks. This is such an easy solution.
1/23/05 5:06 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

More Info
Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.