SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Keeping all your little stuff together and trash control........

Viewed 5234 times
Posted by: Nancy Anne
photo

 
 
About Nancy Anne star
TX USA
Member since: 11/26/04
Reviews written: 50
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
tips added: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/26/05 10:38 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 12 people   
Featured in the PR book!
These are laughably simple tips that many of you are already using, but I didn't think to do them until I heard it from another source:

1. Keep a container (mine is actually a baby-wipe box sans the lid that is now years old) right next to you when you sew. It needs to be big enough to hold all your little sewing tools (like scissors, seam ripper, various marking tools, my wrist pin-cushion when not in use, a teeny notebook for jotting down notes, a pencil- any of the little things that seem to walk off just when you need them), but big enough that you can dig around in there and not knock stuff out. This has saved me an enormous amount of time when I am sewing. I can spend more time on the project and less time searching.

#2. If you have a little table, like a folding TV tray, set it up next to your machine and keep the box there. This will not only free up your work space, but it also will keep it from getting knocked off when a big piece of fabric (or your hand) comes sweeping it's way. This also helps to serve as an extra storage surface in general.

#3. Keep a small lined trash can right next to you. I kept just tossing stuff on the floor, making frequent clean up a must to keep things sightly. Now, I take threads and fabric notches I have clipped, and just little stuff that would normally land on the floor, and drop them in the trash can. Your work area stays a lot neater while you are sewing. With the lining (I use plastic shopping bags), you can quickly toss the whole deal out and slip another one in. (If you put several of them in the bottom of the can THEN put one in as a lining over them it eliminates a trip to the cupboard to get a new one.)

Again, elementary tips, but ones that I thought were worth mentioning because I didn't think to do them until mentioned to me.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
persevering said...
Yes, tips definitely worth mentioning ... planning to implement these great ideas in my sewing area immediately. Thank you.
2/15/12 9:25 AM
Alice said...
I love the TV tray idea. I try to remember to lay on old king sized sheet on the floor before starting a project. I still have a lined trash can at my side but a sheet saves time and collects those teeny threads the vacuum might miss. Now I'll have to find a young neighbor with a baby...no wipes here but soon I'll be needing Depends*, lol
4/2/05 5:56 PM
Donna Isler said...
I place a large but fairly shallow cardboard box on the floor when I'm cutting out. I drop everything extra off the cutting table into the box, fabric scraps, pattern pieces, anything. I don't empty the box til the project is over. This gives me one place to look when I am searching for the little pattern piece I can't find or anything else. Most of all, I seem to love tossing things onto the floor so the box corrals them for me.
2/14/05 10:53 AM
Nancy Anne said...
I have never heard of doing that! Who'd of thunk you could even use scrap thread?
2/10/05 9:38 AM
granny geek said...
Good tips, Nancy. My vachume cleaner used to get clogged with thread scraps until I placed a lint roller in a small basket near my lap level and saved the thread ends. thread scraps can be used for embellishment under sheer fabric (organdy) applique. Its really quite an interesting effect especially when the applique is monagramed. Joan
2/9/05 11:55 PM
Mommo said...
All good tips--the idea of the TV tray is new to me and especiallly appealing! Thanks again!
2/2/05 4:23 PM
bkool said...
I use a 8" tall cylindrical tin, lined with a plastic grocery sack, for dropping snippings and thread and other sewing trash. It really doesn't accumulate very quickly, so I just cap it (those tins usually come with a lid) and stow it until next time with the rest of the sewing stuff.
1/30/05 1:08 PM
Nancy Anne said...
Jill, you need to post that as a separate tip!
1/27/05 8:02 AM
jillishness said...
Another idea for the keeping thread clippings off the floor: Slit the bottom out of a gallon ziploc bag. Then, tape one edge of the bag to your table with electrical tape (easier to remove, and it is in my little storage box). Your threads go in there, and when it is full, unzip the bottom into your trash can. Works wonders for embroidery machine threads.
1/27/05 7:04 AM
Kathy Russell said...
I have made January the month to re-organize my entire sewing room and each of your idea's are great.
1/27/05 0:19 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.