SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Inspiration scrapbook

Viewed 5165 times
Posted by: Karla Kizer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karla Kizer starstarstar
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 68
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 79 people
tips added: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/27/05 6:12 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I have an ever-growing collection of pictures cut from sources like Lucky magazine, Coldwater Creek catalog, Vogue, etc. Some of the pictures are of admired outfits, while others have been saved just for an itsy-bitsy detail like a collar or a ribbon belt. I grew tired of trying to keep these little scraps of paper safe and organized, so I bought a large but inexpensive "magnetic" photo album; mine has 50 pages and cost $10 at Walgreen's. I've spent my TV time for the last few nights sticking my little paper treasures in the book, roughly sorted by categories - necklines, color combinations, pants, accessories, etc. The bits of paper can easily be rearranged or (what a concept) removed and thrown away when I wonder what the heck I saved a particular picture for. I know these sticky photo albums are not "archival" quality and I wouldn't put anything priceless in them. However, for this purpose they seem fine, and it was amusing, mindless entertainment to get all the clippings organized and off the bulletin board.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
joan said...
Thanks, for the organizing tip. I also have this folder of the same kind of bits and pcs. This is a great idea, and I believe I even have one of those albums on hand!
1/27/05 9:13 AM
Sew it seams said...
The folder is a great idea. I also have many little magazine/catalog photos I have collected for inspiration. Organizing them into an album would make them so much easier to go through than the file folder I now have them in. I have also cut photos of Home Dec items with details I like from catalogs. Your tip will help me to separate and organize them. Thanks!
1/27/05 12:09 PM
NancyDaQ said...
Great idea.
1/27/05 5:12 PM
Kathy Russell said...
I do the same thing but just glue them to copy paper, hole punch and place in a binder. For both home dec and fashion.
1/28/05 0:17 AM
FitttingTips said...
I have had for years a blank journal that I use for this picture. I have pages arranged in themes some times, like collars, sleeves, or trims. I have pages of jackets, dresses, etc. At times I also glue in snips of my stash add lists of notions I own, etc. And...in the back I have a listing of fabrics in my stash along with associated notions. I write price paid. When I finish a garment, I note that beside the stash note. Loretta
1/28/05 8:27 AM
GaSouBelle said...
I did something similar with a 3 ring binder. I have boxes of the clear plastic Quick Load sheet protectors from my business so I decided to use these since I already had everything on hand & it makes it easier to organize & move them around as you mentioned. I have one book where I keep hair & makeup ideas & products...easier when i shop or go to hair dresser. And then I have one organized like yours for fashion ideas & inspiration, one for home decor, and one with my pattern envelopes/fabric swatches, & sketches. I do like the idea of having a smaller version though. I may make some color copies to keep a book handy for quick shopping trips. Thanks for the idea.
1/30/05 2:15 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Great idea- now where did I put those pictures...?
2/6/05 8:44 PM
OKgirl said...
great ideas - I better get myself yet another binder! I have a binder full of sewing tips and instructions to help me along (I'm a newbie).
2/15/05 4:59 PM
OP Gal said...
I just ran across this tip, Karla. I do something similar with sheet protectors, but this idea sounds better. And I'm always up for mindless entertainment! Thanks for the tip.
7/23/09 12:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now
Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.