SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Laying down drapery lining using plastic

Viewed 5153 times
Posted by: utz
photo

 
 
About utz star
IL USA
Member since: 12/9/04
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/4/05 2:08 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 19 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I was making 10 panels of drapes lined with cotton sateen lining, 54 " wide by 85" long. Time consuming to say the least. Using the floor I'd lay down drapery fabric, then attempt to lay down the lining so that it would be even with edges and placed correctly. The lining would not scoot, would stick to fabric and I'd be walking around the edges pulling, tugging, smoothing. Very frustrating and time consuming.

Then I remembered reading the trick to put plastic bag around a pillow form before inserting it into a pillow casing. The eureka moment - plastic makes fabric scoot!

So I laid down a sheet of thin plastic tarp (1 -2 ml) sold as cheap painter's tarp on top of the drapery fabric. Cut it inside the edges then placed the lining on top (all 54 x 85") and was able to adjust the lining so that it squared with the edges. A minimal amount of pushing of lining got correct placement because plastic allowed fabric to scoot without it sticking against the drapery fabric. Placement of lining
became a breeze! Then I shoved one edge of plastic away from long side, pinned lining to drapery fabric in proper position, then same across the top attaching drapery fabric to lining. Then I gently pulled plastic tarp out. With minor adjustments had lining perfectly alined on top of drapery fabric. Voila! A headache solved.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
SewVeryTall said...
Good tip...working on the floor is no fun!
2/4/05 2:37 AM
SewingSusan said...
This is an excellent tip. Thank you!
2/5/05 8:27 AM
Jan B. said...
Invention comes out of frustration. Nice idea!
2/5/05 12:30 PM
Astrostitcher said...
Good tip! Hate working on 'resistant' inanimate objects. And who was it who said "Necessity, the Mother of Invention" - "Invention - the necessity of Mothers" ?
2/5/05 2:10 PM
Alice said...
Having walked around the floor on my old knees, tugging at drapery lining and fabric, this is a GREAT IDEA. Duh, why didn't I think of that??
4/2/05 5:46 PM
Cloud9 said...
Hi Utz, What a great helpful tip! I just finished a 90" diameter silk table cover and had a dickens of a time laying down the lining so that it would be even and placed correctly. Not only did the lining not move easily to line up over the silk fabric because I wasn't using plastic sheeting, the lining was a poly-cotton blend that the more I fussed with the placement of the lining the more static was building making it impossible to scoot the lining to center it. I finally tossed the lining in the dryer with a few dryer sheets to help get rid of the static. I wish I had known about the plastic sheeting--it would have saved me hours of fussing with the lining. Also, learned to make sure I use a pure cotton or other static free fabric for use as a liner.
6/8/05 0:46 AM
MIMOSA said...
How neat an idea ! I quilt a bit and this might help dealing with the backing, batting and quilt top . Seems like it takes forever to get those three items lined up right .
5/29/08 6:21 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

PerfectFuse Medium Black

PerfectFuse Medium Black

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.