SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Class Reviews > Stitch and Flip Jacket Class

A PatternReview.com Class
Viewed 5237 times
Posted by: PVA
photo

 
 
About PVA star
OR USA
Member since: 3/28/04
Reviews written: 29
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
classes reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/5/05 3:21 PM
Rating: starstarstar
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
Web site/URL: Stitch-and-Flip Jacket Construction
I'm in the Stitch-and-Flip class Shannon Gifford is teaching here at PR & this has been one of the very best sewing classes I've ever had! I'm slow. I'm always at the tail end of any class, not just sewing. But, the biggest frustration with sewing classes is that no matter how many sessions are scheduled, when the last session is over, *IT'S OVER*! the teacher goes away, the classmates go away, & if the project is not finished, the support system has disappeared! (It is very rare that I finish at the same time the class does!)

For this class, we have our own message board, the teacher (Shannon) responds to questions on the board several times a day, every day, & has assured us repeatedly that she will stay with us & respond to e-mails after the board goes away! How cool is that!?! In addition to that, we download the lessons & there were three live chats where everything could be discussed to everyone's satisfaction.

Shannon familiarized herself with each person's pattern & is able to give detailed instructions on applying her technique to our specific needs. What a concept!

Now, my last point is really a biggie for me! I love sewing in my own space with my own machine, iron, notions & sitting in my own chair! I'm home, if I hit a problem I can go directly to the computer & post a message. Believe me, my answer is back to me very quickly!

In short, I'm really enjoying this whole experience & will never hesitate to take a PR online class again! It is a trip that really rocks!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Sew it seams said...
Thanks, Pat! This is very helpful to me and has convinced me to take an on-line class here at PR because of the same reasons you state. Especially being able to take my time and sew in my own space.
2/5/05 6:03 PM
BillieJean said...
I'm in the same class, and I second everything you said. This class has been wonderful and I have the most beautiful jacket to show for it!!!
2/6/05 12:51 PM
Flamingo K said...
Thanks so much, Pat. I've been cruizing this site alot. I've considered buying into membership, but didn't know if the classes were worth the fee. Now I'm convinced to try one. Sounds perfect to work at my own pace and have someone stay available if I don't keep up with the pace.
2/13/05 6:51 AM
Denny1600 said...
I agree with Pat. I took this class and I enjoyed it. I'm a recent returnee to sewing and this project might have been a bit beyond my recent abilities. However, Shannon was there to answer questions and offer encouragement. She's also updated a portion of the class materials where there was quite a bit of confusion. The chats were very good. The boards are excellent. And I wasn't hesitant to ask some basic questions and got very useful information in return. My classmates asked the questions I didn't know enough yet to ask and I learned plenty from that, too. As soon as I get a bit more breathing room in terms of time, I'll take another class on PR. It's very worth it.
2/15/05 7:04 AM
10Ksteps said...
I, as a new member, am encouraged to take a class as a result of this review.
3/16/05 10:33 PM
Peggy L said...
I have just finished the latest "Stitch and Flip" class and Pat has done a great review. This is my third class with Shannon and I always learn so much in her class (and I am an Intermediate/Advanced). We download a lesson each weekday and have the weekends to catch up. I print them off and make a notebook - buy a big one - there is always lots of infomation. This is a great class and not only have I learned a lot from Shannon, but also my "cyber-classmates" and the questions they have asked on the Q&A Board and the chats.
11/12/05 8:48 AM
thaiyal said...
Thanks for the review, Pat.. I've been wondering about this class, for some time now. Does this class require prior knowledge on sewing jackets? I want to take this class the next time, it shows up, but am not very sure, if it is for somebody who has never sewn a jacket before...
12/9/05 3:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.