SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Use a "Fashion Ruler" to trace patterns.

Viewed 5835 times
Posted by: Tailypo
photo

 
 
About Tailypo starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/6/03
Reviews written: 81
Favored by: 68 people
tips added: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/12/05 7:34 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 11 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
This is probably incredibly obvious to everyone but me, but:

I've had a 'Fashion Ruler' (C on the website linked above) since I started sewing -- when I walked into Britex and asked, "What should I own?" the woman who helped me said I could use it the straight, clear ruler for the time being, and that once I started altering patterns I would love having the curve.

I was tracing a pattern last night and it suddenly occurred to me -- use the curve! And lo and behold, although I have no idea how to actually use the curve properly, or what the various notations on it mean, if I slide the thing up and down, and maybe flip it over, any gosh-darn curve on my pattern will line up with some part of the thing!

My traced pattern came out looking exactly like the original.

I guess I have always thought, "Tracing, you know, like when I used to trace Snoopy out of the Sunday paper." But tracing is kinda like redrafting a pattern, only without changing it. I'd be pretty peeved if the lady at Kwik-Sew drafted my pattern by eyeballing it. I certainly shouldn't be eyeballing the pattern I'm actually using to construct my garment!

Newbies, I think the thing cost $15 so even if you never plan to alter your garments, think about buying one just for accuracy in tracing.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
cousue said...
It would have helped to have had a full description of the item and a link to a photo of it. I think I know the tool that's being discussed, but I'm not sure. In addition to a C ruler, I have a dressmaker's ruler (not so great so far) and a french curve.
4/19/09 11:27 PM
Flowersitas said...
I am a beginner. I wonder if this tool would work, in producing a template for car seat covers I want to make?
6/26/06 3:23 PM
wheezie said...
I would also like to know where I can find the metal hip curve. That item doesn't seem to be available locally.
3/2/05 11:27 AM
Aggie12 said...
Would really like to know where to get one of the rulers
2/22/05 5:12 AM
Tailypo said...
OKgirl -- personally, I trace the pattern directly onto something called Swedish Tracing Paper. With a tissue-type pattern I put the tracing paper under the pattern and sharpie directly onto the pattern itself -- the ink soaks through onto the tracing paper. With a Kwik-Sew pattern, I put the tracing paper on top of the pattern and trace. If you sneek a peak at some of my reviews, or at the Boards, you will discover that I am the worst fitter in the world and constantly destroy my projects so you are much better off raising the fitting method question on either the Beginner's Board, or a specific question on Georgene's pattern modification board. Good luck!
2/16/05 11:38 AM
OKgirl said...
Tailpo, what in addition did you use to trace the pattern, in addition to the fashion ruler? What did you trace the pattern onto; what product did you use inbetween the pattern and what you traced on; did you use a tracing wheel or something else? I haven't traced anything yet, but I think it is a excellent idea for I am sure I will have to alter all of the patterns. Obviously I am very new at this - your help is appreciated. Also, do you have a preferred method for sizing a pattern to fit you? Do you have to use a "form" (a bit too costly for me).?
2/15/05 4:49 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
It's a great tool. I use mine all the time. I actually have two - the clear plastic one and a metal hip curve. I'll probably acquire several more when I get to NYC next time. -Ann
2/13/05 8:33 AM
Astrostitcher said...
Thanks for the reminder to use this useful tool and for the informative web site.
2/13/05 2:15 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Petite Plus 102 Pattern

Petite Plus 102 Pattern

More Info
Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.