SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Use a "Fashion Ruler" to trace patterns.

Viewed 5776 times
Posted by: Tailypo
photo

 
 
About Tailypo starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/6/03
Reviews written: 80
Favored by: 68 people
tips added: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/12/05 7:34 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 11 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
This is probably incredibly obvious to everyone but me, but:

I've had a 'Fashion Ruler' (C on the website linked above) since I started sewing -- when I walked into Britex and asked, "What should I own?" the woman who helped me said I could use it the straight, clear ruler for the time being, and that once I started altering patterns I would love having the curve.

I was tracing a pattern last night and it suddenly occurred to me -- use the curve! And lo and behold, although I have no idea how to actually use the curve properly, or what the various notations on it mean, if I slide the thing up and down, and maybe flip it over, any gosh-darn curve on my pattern will line up with some part of the thing!

My traced pattern came out looking exactly like the original.

I guess I have always thought, "Tracing, you know, like when I used to trace Snoopy out of the Sunday paper." But tracing is kinda like redrafting a pattern, only without changing it. I'd be pretty peeved if the lady at Kwik-Sew drafted my pattern by eyeballing it. I certainly shouldn't be eyeballing the pattern I'm actually using to construct my garment!

Newbies, I think the thing cost $15 so even if you never plan to alter your garments, think about buying one just for accuracy in tracing.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Astrostitcher said...
Thanks for the reminder to use this useful tool and for the informative web site.
2/13/05 2:15 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
It's a great tool. I use mine all the time. I actually have two - the clear plastic one and a metal hip curve. I'll probably acquire several more when I get to NYC next time. -Ann
2/13/05 8:33 AM
OKgirl said...
Tailpo, what in addition did you use to trace the pattern, in addition to the fashion ruler? What did you trace the pattern onto; what product did you use inbetween the pattern and what you traced on; did you use a tracing wheel or something else? I haven't traced anything yet, but I think it is a excellent idea for I am sure I will have to alter all of the patterns. Obviously I am very new at this - your help is appreciated. Also, do you have a preferred method for sizing a pattern to fit you? Do you have to use a "form" (a bit too costly for me).?
2/15/05 4:49 PM
Tailypo said...
OKgirl -- personally, I trace the pattern directly onto something called Swedish Tracing Paper. With a tissue-type pattern I put the tracing paper under the pattern and sharpie directly onto the pattern itself -- the ink soaks through onto the tracing paper. With a Kwik-Sew pattern, I put the tracing paper on top of the pattern and trace. If you sneek a peak at some of my reviews, or at the Boards, you will discover that I am the worst fitter in the world and constantly destroy my projects so you are much better off raising the fitting method question on either the Beginner's Board, or a specific question on Georgene's pattern modification board. Good luck!
2/16/05 11:38 AM
Aggie12 said...
Would really like to know where to get one of the rulers
2/22/05 5:12 AM
wheezie said...
I would also like to know where I can find the metal hip curve. That item doesn't seem to be available locally.
3/2/05 11:27 AM
Flowersitas said...
I am a beginner. I wonder if this tool would work, in producing a template for car seat covers I want to make?
6/26/06 3:23 PM
cousue said...
It would have helped to have had a full description of the item and a link to a photo of it. I think I know the tool that's being discussed, but I'm not sure. In addition to a C ruler, I have a dressmaker's ruler (not so great so far) and a french curve.
4/19/09 11:27 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.