SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Stretch and Sew with Soup Ingredient

Viewed 5193 times
Posted by: j222b
photo

 
 
About j222b
CA USA
Member since: 12/28/04
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/23/05 10:49 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
I keep two 1 pound packages of lentils by my sew machines and also computer. I use them to "exercise" my arms and stretch now and then during the day. It feels so good to me. Of course the usual disclaimers apply: check with a doctor before embarking on an exercise program. Our bodies are all different and like altering a pattern what works for my body might not work for your body.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
firstmate said...
Excellent idea to keep the juices flowing.
2/26/05 9:49 AM
Sew it seams said...
great reminder! Thanks.
2/24/05 2:47 PM
Mini said...
LOL your tip title. I use bags of dried beans as pattern weights, but never thought of using them for exercise.
2/24/05 1:14 PM
Nancy Anne said...
You can also use various sizes ofn food cans. This will help to tone, but not to build muscle. Unless you are lifting a Costco-sized 20-lb can of baked beans. In that case, I would advise you to just buy the weights. That way, you know they won't get eaten.
2/24/05 10:32 AM
Jackie M said...
Or ... you can get a beagle. I get all my exercise when I'm sewing by constantly lifting the dog off my sewing chair, the cutting table, the pile of fabric I left on the floor ... or I'm chasing her around trying to get her to drop my presscloth or pattern pieces ... :)
2/23/05 10:59 PM
Patti-Jo said...
My doc told me to do this with small weights. A few #s of lentils is a lot cheaper than weights! Have to keep those muscles supple!
2/23/05 8:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Pants Fitting DVD

Pants Fitting DVD

Buy Now
Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.