SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Stretch and Sew with Soup Ingredient

Viewed 5126 times
Posted by: j222b
photo

 
 
About j222b
CA USA
Member since: 12/28/04
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/23/05 10:49 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
I keep two 1 pound packages of lentils by my sew machines and also computer. I use them to "exercise" my arms and stretch now and then during the day. It feels so good to me. Of course the usual disclaimers apply: check with a doctor before embarking on an exercise program. Our bodies are all different and like altering a pattern what works for my body might not work for your body.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Patti-Jo said...
My doc told me to do this with small weights. A few #s of lentils is a lot cheaper than weights! Have to keep those muscles supple!
2/23/05 8:51 PM
Jackie M said...
Or ... you can get a beagle. I get all my exercise when I'm sewing by constantly lifting the dog off my sewing chair, the cutting table, the pile of fabric I left on the floor ... or I'm chasing her around trying to get her to drop my presscloth or pattern pieces ... :)
2/23/05 10:59 PM
Nancy Anne said...
You can also use various sizes ofn food cans. This will help to tone, but not to build muscle. Unless you are lifting a Costco-sized 20-lb can of baked beans. In that case, I would advise you to just buy the weights. That way, you know they won't get eaten.
2/24/05 10:32 AM
Mini said...
LOL your tip title. I use bags of dried beans as pattern weights, but never thought of using them for exercise.
2/24/05 1:14 PM
Sew it seams said...
great reminder! Thanks.
2/24/05 2:47 PM
firstmate said...
Excellent idea to keep the juices flowing.
2/26/05 9:49 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.