SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > STORAGE PATTERN NEED HELP

Viewed 5139 times
Posted by: wesew4
photo

 
 
About wesew4
IL USA
Member since: 12/12/04
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/24/05 4:01 PM
This isn't a tip but I don't know where else to ask. I've been thinking of getting a filing cabinet from Walmarts to hold patterns, my problem is I have over 400 patterns. Can anyone tell me how many the letter sized cabinets and the legal sized cabinets hold (each drawer). Walmarts have two or four drawer letter sized cabinets and only two drawer legal sized cabinets. I just don't know if one four drawer cabinet would hold all my patterns or would I need two. I also want there to be room left over to hold any new patterns I get. Would this get to costly by needing to buy alot of file cabinets? They aren't that cheap either.
carol

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Georgene said...
You might get better response by posting your question on the message board here at PR, and searching on this topic there. Jusr click on the tab marked "message board" at the top of the page and it will take you to that 'department'. There are many who have similar pattern storage issues, and have found creative solutions. Good luck.
2/24/05 4:55 PM
Linda Lennard said...
I have close to 400 patterns also and took an idea from Gigi. I store my tissue pattern pieces in a 10x13 envelope. I file by pattern number. I have a 5 drawer filing cabinet that holds legal size documents and so far have about 4 drawers full. I keep the pattern envelopes in sheet protectors in a 3 inch ring notebook separated by type. Right now I am up to 4 notebooks. Sure makes it easier, though, instead of hunting through boxes of patterns. And I also found that I had duplicates of 4 patterns. I also have my pattern list on an Excel spreadsheet to print labels for my envelopes. The only thing I list on the spreadsheet is pattern#, pattern company and size. I have a comment section but haven't used it much except where a pattern was duplicated and given a different number by the pattern company. This is the most organized that I have evr been with my patterns.
2/25/05 9:17 AM
Marrs said...
If you are using the 9x12 manilla envelopes each drawer will hold approximately 60 envelopes. I try to keep the envelope 'evenly thick' by seperating the pattern and the instruction sheet. This helps to get as much as possible in the drawer.
2/25/05 11:45 AM
creative said...
wow! 400 patterns! It is a lot, isn;t it? I have a four-drawers filing cabinet and love it! But I store my patterns on my book shelves. I grouped them into groups and labelled the groups. When I want to find a pattern let's say, for a skirt , I go to the 'Skirt' section and simply review my collection of skirts. Creative.
2/26/05 10:29 PM
USMMJenny said...
Try the thrift stores, a shelving unit with baskets, or a dresser, its inexpensive and you can customize and embellish with paint, fabric, labels, and maybe have room to store more than patterns. I say recycle! Use your imagination and make a creation! Sewing rooms should reflect your own style of genius. It feels so good to say "I made it myself!"
3/7/05 0:58 AM
costumecarol said...
My file cabinet drawer (25" deep, front to back)holds about 90 patterns in the 6"x 9" envelopes. That leaves enough room to actually push them back and forth, looking at the numbers and replacing them easily. I have scanned each pattern, and printed out pages of related patterns, ie: tops, bottoms, dresses, vintage, six or eight to a printed page, This makeshift catalog is kept in the front of the first drawer, and the patterns are sorted by number. Oversized envelopes are in the bottom drawer, and a colored dot on the catalog indicates which patterns those are. Should I have my catalog on a computer disk? Probably, but I'm a sewing savant, not a computer savant. C
3/7/05 6:41 AM
pia2099 said...
dear wesew4; all my patterns are in 2 2drawer file cabinets. in all these years (30) I haven't found a better way. Also I suppose it depends how neat and organized you are. I take all my patterns out of the folder and put them in a 1 gallon freezer bag. so you could probably get more in if you have the patience. also i've never stopped to count all of them. good luck I think you've found the best solution Annie
5/21/05 2:01 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Sew Liberated Ashland Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Ashland Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.