SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Finding rib knits for cuffs, collars, etc

Viewed 5416 times
Posted by: Nikki
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nikki starstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 267
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 94 people
tips added: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/26/05 2:44 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
Featured in the PR book!
Finding rib knit yardage can be difficult, especially if you are looking for an odd color, or a certain weight, fabric content, or a chunky rib. Most rib knit yardage for sale comes only in basic colors with narrow ribs, and can be fairly expensive. Instead of yardage, try looking for rib knit garments at the thrift store - cuffs and collars don't need a lot of fabric, so a single top will probably have enough fabric to use. You can work around stains or flaws, there are tons of colors available, and the cost is usually less than buying yardage. There are lots of interesting weaves in RTW, and you may be able to make special use of the knit hem (not available in yardage). Plus, you are sort of recycling.

I wanted some chunky brown rib knit as contrast on a corduroy jacket, and found about five different tops that would work at the local thrift store, for about $2 each. There were at least a hundred other rib knit tops in other colors, so I will definately head to the thrift store first the next time I am looking for contrast ribbing.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
Great idea, Nikki.
2/28/05 7:42 PM
j222b said...
so-so-sewer: I make the mittens you describe from old wool sweaters that have been tossed in the (hot) washer & dryer, too...I use them to dust. The old, felted, large mittens hold & capture the dust better than anything else, leaving more time to sew.
2/28/05 11:02 AM
Astrostitcher said...
Thanks for the good suggestion - you are so right about the dearth of choice in ribbings. I can add another use for castoff knits : I use the sleeves of shrunken or moth-eaten wool sweaters to make mittens for dirty winter work like fetching firewood - just stick you hand wrong way up the sleeve, cut the length needed, shape & sew it up; and panels from thick cotton sweaters make great square potholders that give you a better grip than the quilted ones - use two or more thicknesses.
2/27/05 3:16 AM
j222b said...
Thanks!! I'm always shopping at a thrift shop near my home and now I have another item to add to my "things to buy" list.
2/26/05 6:52 PM
PVA said...
Great idea, Nikki, I thank you for it!
2/26/05 4:09 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a great idea. I shopped thrift stores for some great buttons and some other items but I never thought about rib knits.
2/26/05 4:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.