SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Changing the bobbin thread to machine-baste

Viewed 5282 times
Posted by: Nancy Anne
photo

 
 
About Nancy Anne star
TX USA
Member since: 11/26/04
Reviews written: 50
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
tips added: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/27/05 6:36 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 9 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
Featured in the PR book!
When you are getting ready to machine-baste and want to use an opposite-colored thread to stand out for removal later, just change the bobbin thread color. It is a lot easier to change than the top thread, and saves you time. It also makes only one side of the basting-thread-removal absolutely necessary, in case some of your basting stitches have been stitched-over and difficult to remove.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
MareeAlison said...
Great tip. I like it.
6/2/07 10:04 PM
Nancy Anne said...
Thanks everyone, but this is actually not my original idea. I got this one from Sanrda Betzina's "sew perfect" show, when it was on. I should have mentioned it in the review- it has been a very handy trick for me.
3/1/05 7:54 AM
meli88a said...
i do this too! shows great minds think alike! :)
2/28/05 11:47 AM
Sew it seams said...
Nancy Anne, this is a great tip. It's always easier to pull the bobbin thread to remove a basted seam, so this makes it much easier to do. Thanks.
2/28/05 9:15 AM
Ann C said...
Maybe this should be another tip but I'll add it here since it's related. If you machine baste quite a bit you might want some machine basting thread. I haven't used it however I have seen it for sale on the web. It's less expensive, comes in XL cones of all cotton. Would be great on the serger. Perhaps machine bobbins could be wound with this and used when basting time comes around.
2/28/05 7:53 AM
SewTwin said...
Nancy, I love this idea! This is in the "why didn't I think of that? Category.Ijust took out something 3 times on black slink,with of course black thread.Blind now, but I got it.Wish I had used yellow, or white on 1 side.Won't do that again!
2/28/05 2:51 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.