SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > making embroidered fringe

Viewed 5240 times
Posted by: Diane Tucker
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Diane Tucker
IN USA
Member since: 1/24/03
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/2/05 2:38 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I have just made my own fringe from an embroidered design. I wanted to add fringed to a blah brown/cream wool herringbone fabric. This type of weave is very hard to pull the threads to create fringe. I embroidered my own. Think of all the great, variagated threads that are available to use that will coordinate with any project. Here is my skirt http://images.ofoto.com/photos1141/2/33/79/2/71/5/571027933203_0_ALB.jpg The design is embroidered on water soluble stabilizer (I use Badgemaster). Stitch the design, soak stabilizer with design in water for a few hours, dry design on a towel, press the design, then stitch onto your project, or sew into the seams. I liked the results best with polyester embroidery thread, but rayon works too. You can digitize your own fringe design or can get freebies of different lengths here : Scroll half way down page where it says "want to add fringe "at http://www.laurassewingstudio.com/Embroidery_Collections/Mucho_Molas_Nouveau_5x7/mucho_molas_nouveau_5x7.html

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


3 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
eatsallinsects said...
Diane, I have sewn out a lot of the "free fringe" and it is addictive! One thing I have experienced is some of it comes out straight and some is very "curly". Polyester or rayon; varigated or plain thread, does not seem to make any difference. Have you had the same experience? Think I shall try some cotton thread.
3/29/05 8:26 AM
j222b said...
I can see the skirt and website by copy and paste technique. Fringe on skirt is cute. I cannot access the "web site/URL" as mentioned above. I didn't feel like joining the group mentioned, and I don't understand how you made this fringe. My sew machine does not connect to the internet-not sure if I can do this fringe. My machine does embroidery, though.
3/8/05 12:22 PM
katieb said...
I can't view the Website/URL, I just get You don't have permission to access /photos1141/2/33/79/41/14/2/214417933203_0_SM.jpg on this server. Does anybody else have this problem? I can look at your skirt and the Embroidery website. The skirt looks great.
3/8/05 3:54 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.