SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > making embroidered fringe

Viewed 5190 times
Posted by: Diane Tucker
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Diane Tucker
IN USA
Member since: 1/24/03
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/2/05 2:38 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I have just made my own fringe from an embroidered design. I wanted to add fringed to a blah brown/cream wool herringbone fabric. This type of weave is very hard to pull the threads to create fringe. I embroidered my own. Think of all the great, variagated threads that are available to use that will coordinate with any project. Here is my skirt http://images.ofoto.com/photos1141/2/33/79/2/71/5/571027933203_0_ALB.jpg The design is embroidered on water soluble stabilizer (I use Badgemaster). Stitch the design, soak stabilizer with design in water for a few hours, dry design on a towel, press the design, then stitch onto your project, or sew into the seams. I liked the results best with polyester embroidery thread, but rayon works too. You can digitize your own fringe design or can get freebies of different lengths here : Scroll half way down page where it says "want to add fringe "at http://www.laurassewingstudio.com/Embroidery_Collections/Mucho_Molas_Nouveau_5x7/mucho_molas_nouveau_5x7.html

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


3 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
katieb said...
I can't view the Website/URL, I just get You don't have permission to access /photos1141/2/33/79/41/14/2/214417933203_0_SM.jpg on this server. Does anybody else have this problem? I can look at your skirt and the Embroidery website. The skirt looks great.
3/8/05 3:54 AM
j222b said...
I can see the skirt and website by copy and paste technique. Fringe on skirt is cute. I cannot access the "web site/URL" as mentioned above. I didn't feel like joining the group mentioned, and I don't understand how you made this fringe. My sew machine does not connect to the internet-not sure if I can do this fringe. My machine does embroidery, though.
3/8/05 12:22 PM
eatsallinsects said...
Diane, I have sewn out a lot of the "free fringe" and it is addictive! One thing I have experienced is some of it comes out straight and some is very "curly". Polyester or rayon; varigated or plain thread, does not seem to make any difference. Have you had the same experience? Think I shall try some cotton thread.
3/29/05 8:26 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Chelsea

Chelsea

Buy Now
SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.