SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Tips & Techniques > making embroidered fringe

Viewed 5282 times
Posted by: Diane Tucker
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Diane Tucker
IN USA
Member since: 1/24/03
Reviews: 5 (tips: 2)
Skill level:Advanced
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/2/05 2:38 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I have just made my own fringe from an embroidered design. I wanted to add fringed to a blah brown/cream wool herringbone fabric. This type of weave is very hard to pull the threads to create fringe. I embroidered my own. Think of all the great, variagated threads that are available to use that will coordinate with any project. Here is my skirt http://images.ofoto.com/photos1141/2/33/79/2/71/5/571027933203_0_ALB.jpg The design is embroidered on water soluble stabilizer (I use Badgemaster). Stitch the design, soak stabilizer with design in water for a few hours, dry design on a towel, press the design, then stitch onto your project, or sew into the seams. I liked the results best with polyester embroidery thread, but rayon works too. You can digitize your own fringe design or can get freebies of different lengths here : Scroll half way down page where it says "want to add fringe "at http://www.laurassewingstudio.com/Embroidery_Collections/Mucho_Molas_Nouveau_5x7/mucho_molas_nouveau_5x7.html

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


3 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
eatsallinsects said... (3/29/05 8:26 AM) Reply
Diane, I have sewn out a lot of the "free fringe" and it is addictive! One thing I have experienced is some of it comes out straight and some is very "curly". Polyester or rayon; varigated or plain thread, does not seem to make any difference. Have you had the same experience? Think I shall try some cotton thread.
j222b said... (3/8/05 12:22 PM) Reply
I can see the skirt and website by copy and paste technique. Fringe on skirt is cute. I cannot access the "web site/URL" as mentioned above. I didn't feel like joining the group mentioned, and I don't understand how you made this fringe. My sew machine does not connect to the internet-not sure if I can do this fringe. My machine does embroidery, though.
katieb said... (3/8/05 3:54 AM) Reply
I can't view the Website/URL, I just get You don't have permission to access /photos1141/2/33/79/41/14/2/214417933203_0_SM.jpg on this server. Does anybody else have this problem? I can look at your skirt and the Embroidery website. The skirt looks great.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Pattern Details

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2015 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.