Online Sewing Class: Altering Jackets
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > making embroidered fringe

Viewed 5305 times
Posted by: Diane Tucker
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Diane Tucker
IN USA
Member since: 1/24/03
Reviews: 5 (tips: 2)
Skill level:Advanced
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/2/05 2:38 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I have just made my own fringe from an embroidered design. I wanted to add fringed to a blah brown/cream wool herringbone fabric. This type of weave is very hard to pull the threads to create fringe. I embroidered my own. Think of all the great, variagated threads that are available to use that will coordinate with any project. Here is my skirt http://images.ofoto.com/photos1141/2/33/79/2/71/5/571027933203_0_ALB.jpg The design is embroidered on water soluble stabilizer (I use Badgemaster). Stitch the design, soak stabilizer with design in water for a few hours, dry design on a towel, press the design, then stitch onto your project, or sew into the seams. I liked the results best with polyester embroidery thread, but rayon works too. You can digitize your own fringe design or can get freebies of different lengths here : Scroll half way down page where it says "want to add fringe "at http://www.laurassewingstudio.com/Embroidery_Collections/Mucho_Molas_Nouveau_5x7/mucho_molas_nouveau_5x7.html

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


3 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
eatsallinsects said... (3/29/05 8:26 AM) Reply
Diane, I have sewn out a lot of the "free fringe" and it is addictive! One thing I have experienced is some of it comes out straight and some is very "curly". Polyester or rayon; varigated or plain thread, does not seem to make any difference. Have you had the same experience? Think I shall try some cotton thread.
j222b said... (3/8/05 12:22 PM) Reply
I can see the skirt and website by copy and paste technique. Fringe on skirt is cute. I cannot access the "web site/URL" as mentioned above. I didn't feel like joining the group mentioned, and I don't understand how you made this fringe. My sew machine does not connect to the internet-not sure if I can do this fringe. My machine does embroidery, though.
katieb said... (3/8/05 3:54 AM) Reply
I can't view the Website/URL, I just get You don't have permission to access /photos1141/2/33/79/41/14/2/214417933203_0_SM.jpg on this server. Does anybody else have this problem? I can look at your skirt and the Embroidery website. The skirt looks great.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Pattern Details
Sew Liberated Lola and Lolita Aprons

Sew Liberated Lola and Lolita Aprons

Pattern Details

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2015 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.