SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Google Searches on PR

Viewed 5127 times
Posted by: wood turtle
photo

 
 
About wood turtle
MN USA
Member since: 9/18/02
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/3/05 11:15 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 28 people   
Featured in the PR book!
Some people have been requesting that Deepika provide more search capabilities on this site. A lot of these searches could be accomplished with Google. Many people with blogs and websites do not even have their own search engines; they just use a Google add-in that only searches on their website.

This may be no big news to accomplished Google searchers, but I will outline below how I searched for "Kwik Sew" , "outerwear", and "fleece". A recent member requested this in order to find out what patterns were reviewed that were outerwear made with fleece using a Kwik Sew pattern.

Go to google.com

Click on advanced search

In the domain box type patternreview.com (This box is just above the suggestion "e.g. google.com.")

In the box after "with all the words" type outerwear fleece

In the box after "with the exact phrase" type Kwik Sew Sewing Pattern Review

When I searched with this, I got 12 pattern reviews that were Kwik Sew outerwear made with fleece, mostly vests.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


19 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
SewVeryTall said...
Excellent Tip, thank you! I just did a silly search for my own name, and got a list of the hundreds of times I've posted ...yikes, lol. This will come in so handy when I'm looking for something here.
3/4/05 5:32 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Great idea! This is a real 'duh! Why didn't I think about that!' tip ;)
3/4/05 7:38 AM
Sew it seams said...
Great tip. Thank you!
3/4/05 10:15 AM
Nancy Anne said...
What a great tip! As someone who is tecnologically ignorant, this was news to me!
3/4/05 3:17 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Ooo Ooo Ooo! That was me looking for that. I'd been using google for my PR searches, but never thought to use the advanced search by domain. Thanksamucho, Wood Turtle!
3/4/05 4:02 PM
drsue said...
Well, I'll be "danged', I had no clue about this.
3/4/05 6:58 PM
wood turtle said...
I'm glad that you found it helpful. The hardest thing is getting the word selection so that you get just what you want without eliminating anything.
3/4/05 7:48 PM
wood turtle said...
Sometimes it is easier to see your word selections on "Cached" instead of clicking on the site title, because your word selections are highlighted on the cached page at Google.
3/4/05 8:38 PM
PixieCat said...
I had no idea this was an option on Google. Thanks for the tip!
3/5/05 3:50 AM
Annette H said...
Thanks - a great help.
3/5/05 5:28 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I love,love, love Google. However I keep learning more and more about its use from tips like yours. Thanks for expanding my knowledge.
3/5/05 6:56 AM
Kathryn said...
yippee yahoo--an even better way to enjoy patternreview. Thank you, woodturtle!
3/5/05 7:56 AM
AnneM said...
I had started doing this recently also. Great idea to share the idea.
3/5/05 10:31 AM
Pam Z said...
Thank you...a very helpful tip!
3/5/05 12:28 PM
cindyann said...
Thank you! A much needed timesaver.
3/7/05 1:30 PM
meanjean said...
If you want to search just the forums, then put the following into the domain box: http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/sewingclasses/board.pl
9/12/05 6:04 PM
lornakismet said...
Gold Star helpful! -LornaKismet (Lorna A.)
5/9/06 11:33 PM
rosephreak said...
This rocks. Thanks!
5/10/06 9:35 AM
Luckylibbet said...
I was going to add this tip, but used it to see if anyone else had posted it, and voila! there it was.
5/27/06 8:12 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Sewing Workshop Joplin Pullover Pattern

Sewing Workshop Joplin Pullover Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Beauty Case Pattern

You Sew Girl Beauty Case Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.