SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Iron cleaning

Viewed 5291 times
Posted by: Debbie Lancaster
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Debbie Lancaster star
CA United States
Member since: 9/18/02
Reviews written: 70
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
tips added: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/13/05 10:35 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
Featured in the PR book!
If your iron has acquired some gunk on the soleplate, rather than buying a tube of commercial cleaner, you can let it cool, then scrub it lightly with a soft cloth (I use a microfiber cloth) and damp baking soda. The baking soda will not scratch the sole plate, and the cloth won't either. (You can iron most fabric, even rough types, right?). Another suggestion I've read is warm vinegar and salt, although I've never tried that. (I wish there were a nose-holding smiley!)

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
KAB said...
Yup; works great; no damage. BTW, your note re: vinegar and salt works to lift oxidation on silver jewelry & buttons. Sprinkle vinegar (any kind) on silver; salt liberally; wait moments; rinse or wipe w/damp cloth. Perfect; no effort; no damage. Yeah, it smells less than lovely.
5/18/06 12:16 PM
Gillian said...
It works! Great tip.
6/19/05 8:20 PM
Tini said...
Worked like a charm! So easy and cheap!!
3/29/05 5:45 AM
Debbie Lancaster said...
Betty, my iron is brand new with a stainless steel soleplate, and there's not a mark on the soleplate from the cleaning, other than water spots. Now that I think about it, I suspect that you can't avoid getting *some* scratches on it just from normal wear and tear. My old iron, for example, is scratched all over (in a pattern from top to bottom, the direction in which I iron!), and it's never been cleaned at all.
3/16/05 7:40 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
I would be very careful about using baking soda on the shiny stainless steel soleplates. I recently used a paper towel to wipe mine, and I was surprised that it scratched the soleplate. Baking soda is even more abrasive; I would not use it on this type of soleplate.
3/15/05 2:44 PM
OKgirl said...
For many years I have used "waxed paper" from the grocery store. Take a large sheet of waxed paper and iron it, folding it as you go. Has always worked or me.
3/14/05 9:36 AM
Annette H said...
Thank you - sounds good!
3/14/05 7:02 AM
sheree said...
Thanks for the great tip. I hate the smell of the commercial iron cleaner (and the cost!) I'll definitely use this tip!
3/13/05 6:38 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.