SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Iron Cleaner (another one)

Viewed 5228 times
Posted by: SueV
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SueV starstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 1/29/04
Reviews written: 453
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 120 people
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/14/05 5:09 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 7 people   
Featured in the PR book!
When I get gunk on my iron, I just run the hot iron over a fabric softener sheet and all that glue comes off and my iron is ready to glide across my fabric! In fact, I just keep a fabric softener sheet on my ironing board all ready to go.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
roz blair said...
This is a wonderful idea! I have always wondered what could be done with the spent dryer sheets.
7/12/06 8:16 PM
Astrostitcher said...
I tried this on a French dryer sheet product and the durned thing melted!! Do you turn the iron off or are the sheets not all alike? TIA
7/23/05 1:08 AM
Hilary said...
Wow, I have to try this-I hate that stinky iron cleaning stuff-THANKS!
3/28/05 5:05 PM
Jayme girl said...
I have been buying Iron cleaner for yearsThanks for a great tip
3/23/05 10:50 AM
SueV said...
Here is one example/brand of a fabric softener sheet: http://www.instawares.com/Bounce-Fabric-Softener-Sheets.36000PG.0.7.htm and, of course there are other brands, HTH
3/18/05 11:00 AM
creative said...
I am going to ask a stupid question -what is the fabric softener sheet? :)
3/17/05 6:20 AM
Andee said...
Oh Boy, I can't wait to try this tip. I have been using the glueyest interfacing lately! Even with a pressing cloth I get a little on my iron. Many thanks.
3/15/05 6:26 AM
SewVeryTall said...
This is one of my favorite tips [I posted it in March 2004, 'Gunk on Iron']. It doesn't have to be a new sheet, a used one works great too. I was tempted to update it for new members to see, thanks for posting it again.
3/15/05 3:22 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

More Info
Newport Tote

Newport Tote

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.