SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Iron Cleaner (another one)

Viewed 5166 times
Posted by: SueV
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SueV starstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 1/29/04
Reviews written: 452
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/14/05 5:09 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 7 people   
Featured in the PR book!
When I get gunk on my iron, I just run the hot iron over a fabric softener sheet and all that glue comes off and my iron is ready to glide across my fabric! In fact, I just keep a fabric softener sheet on my ironing board all ready to go.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
SewVeryTall said...
This is one of my favorite tips [I posted it in March 2004, 'Gunk on Iron']. It doesn't have to be a new sheet, a used one works great too. I was tempted to update it for new members to see, thanks for posting it again.
3/15/05 3:22 AM
Andee said...
Oh Boy, I can't wait to try this tip. I have been using the glueyest interfacing lately! Even with a pressing cloth I get a little on my iron. Many thanks.
3/15/05 6:26 AM
creative said...
I am going to ask a stupid question -what is the fabric softener sheet? :)
3/17/05 6:20 AM
SueV said...
Here is one example/brand of a fabric softener sheet: http://www.instawares.com/Bounce-Fabric-Softener-Sheets.36000PG.0.7.htm and, of course there are other brands, HTH
3/18/05 11:00 AM
Jayme girl said...
I have been buying Iron cleaner for yearsThanks for a great tip
3/23/05 10:50 AM
Hilary said...
Wow, I have to try this-I hate that stinky iron cleaning stuff-THANKS!
3/28/05 5:05 PM
Astrostitcher said...
I tried this on a French dryer sheet product and the durned thing melted!! Do you turn the iron off or are the sheets not all alike? TIA
7/23/05 1:08 AM
roz blair said...
This is a wonderful idea! I have always wondered what could be done with the spent dryer sheets.
7/12/06 8:16 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

Buy Now
Pants Sewing DVD

Pants Sewing DVD

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.