Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Make the lining first... (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5494 times
Review rated Helpful by 12 people   Very Helpful by 40 people   
Posted by: GorgeousFabrics
photo
About GorgeousFabrics starstarstarstar
Member since: 8/12/02
Reviews written: 63
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 255 people
tips added: 23
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/18/02 11:57 PM
When working with a pattern that calls for a lining, I make the lining up first, especially (always!) if the lining is made from the same pattern pieces as the garment itself. This is useful for a number of reasons. First, when I am making up a pattern, once I get through the fashion fabric, the lining becomes *really boring*, and I am tempted to cut corners. By making the lining first, I avoid the feeling of "lining letdown". Second, and most importantly, by making the lining before setting shears or rotary cutter to fabric, I can check my fit, and use the lining as a faux muslin. Now, I am a muslin hound, but let's face it, who wants to make a muslin for every single garment? By making the lining first, you can check fit on a much cheaper fabric, and transfer any adjustments with a minimum of hassle.

Hope this helps!
Ann
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Loreli said...
Well thats a real good idea. Especially for checking the fit using the lining. I suppose a person just will have to cut 1 Inch seam alowances for any case. Thanks Ann.
12/19/02 7:06 PM
CatherineN said...
I'm trying that on a dress I'm making now. Hope it works.
12/20/02 11:02 PM
Glo said...
What a common sense solution! I'll have to make constructing the lining first part of my standard technique. And I loved the red dress this tip came from, by the way.
12/21/02 5:45 PM
Mbarkle said...
Hey, I just did this. Thought of it on my own and what a great idea. I am working on a lined dress, so I cut the lining first and basted it together. It looks like it will fit okay, so now I'll sew it up before I cut the chiffon layer.
1/10/03 5:34 PM
Lia said...
THIS IS AN AWESOME IDEA. WHY HAVE I NEVER THOUGHT OF IT. WILL DO IT ON MY NEXT SKIRT PROJECT.
3/7/03 1:32 PM
jb said...
Great Idea, I am going to trying this on a dress and skirt that must have a lining. Have a question for you. I have heavy tummy and big hips. MY skirt rides up in the back and makes the front slag . I have altered for heavy tummy and hip, but I could use some help on this issue. I have used several altering tecchniques but havent been satisfied with them. I also sing Opera (coloratura soprano), but now I sing mostly gospel and gospel jazz with an operatic twist. Hoping to come out with my first album this year.
6/17/03 8:11 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
JB, usually (and I would have to get a look at you to tell if this is the case) skirts riding up in back are a sign of a protruding derriere. Actually, I prefer to call this "J. Lo butt" - it sounds much sexier :). It means that you need to add height at the center back. There's a good example of how to do this in Sandra Betzina's book "Fast Fit". I also prefer to use the seam method of alteration, which is shown in the tips section on the home page. I'm also going to copy your question to the Pattern Modification section of the message boards (http://www.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/ikonboard/ikonboard.pl?s=3ef04ef66ae5ffff;act=SF;f=26) and see what the experts say. HTH! And if you come to the PR weekend in NYC, maybe we can have a jam session! -Ann
6/18/03 10:10 AM
jb said...
This is such a wonderful suggestion. I am getting ready to try this on a dress and a skirt
6/21/03 1:40 AM
Nay1975 said...
This is a great tip, I am in the process of making a dress for a wedding and I have this great fabric that needs a lining. I was unsure on how to add the lining and if it would disrupt the dress, but I think I can go ahead and add it.
7/17/03 2:04 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Just read this tip, where have I been? This makes so much sense to me. You have defined my feelings about linings perfectly and yet never thought of it as a muslin. Which regretfully I hate to do. This is a great tip.
1/6/04 6:02 AM
busy91 said...
This is an awesome idea!
4/27/04 8:34 AM
Wild Rose said...
I hate making muslins. I make historical garments and bone the inner panel. That's what I use for a fitting. But I now have to make contemporary garments. I LOVE setting a lining. Now I can use the lining as the muslin too. Thanks, Diane
9/19/04 10:27 AM
priscilla said...
What a great suggestion. You're right about tending to cut corners if you do the lining last ...ask me how I know :O)
2/5/06 8:01 AM
ginaT said...
Great Idea
2/11/07 5:26 PM
ZoeP said...
Great tip. I feel is boring to work on linings when all I want to do is wear the garment, and like the idea of being able to do a fit check. thank you.
5/12/07 10:35 PM
gaby said...
GREAT TIP!! That's why I love this site!
7/24/07 10:29 PM
barbcl said...
Great tip, thanks!
11/4/07 7:27 PM
Nancy Anne said...
What a marvelous tip! I am just about to make a jacket with a full lining, and will use your suggestion- how timely!
2/14/08 9:23 AM
Grammy Gin said...
A very helpful suggestion. I plan to use it the next time I have a pattern with a lining. Thanks so much! ;-)
2/14/08 10:40 AM
LauraBell said...
This is a GREAT idea!
8/6/08 9:54 AM
CathrynR said...
Especially to the point is the lining let-down, waiting until the garment is finished before making the garment. I definitely will do the lining first, next time I make a lined garment. Thanks.
10/18/08 11:27 AM
Lynnelle said...
Great tip! Thank you.
11/17/08 8:43 AM
moniki20 said...
Excellent idea! Will be doing lining first from now on. Thanks.
11/18/08 1:18 PM
Berry B said...
Excellent idea ! I face the same lining letdown feeling so from now on I'll do lining first!
1/22/09 3:56 AM
jlbrannon said...
That is a GREAT idea! Why didn't I think of that?
5/20/09 10:54 PM
Beckyskates said...
Thanks for this suggestion. I am trying to stop the lining from riding up. I just made a dress that did not call or lining. It is four way stretch burnt out velvet and the lining is ribbed lycra. The lining rides up to my waste in about ten steps. Any ideas?
1/2/10 11:56 AM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us