SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Make the lining first...

Viewed 5661 times
Posted by: GorgeousFabrics
photo

 
 
About GorgeousFabrics starstarstarstar
Member since: 8/12/02
Reviews written: 63
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 254 people
tips added: 23
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/18/02 11:57 PM
Last Updated: 5/30/14 9:47 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 12 people   Very Helpful by 40 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Maecenas eu mattis mi, id elementum arcu. Sed malesuada in dolor at adipiscing. Donec dignissim ipsum sed magna tincidunt, in dignissim diam semper. Nam eget egestas metus. Integer lobortis et justo non laoreet. Praesent ultrices leo vitae dui faucibus varius. Nunc feugiat hendrerit ultrices. Cras turpis ligula, sollicitudin ac lobortis sit amet, volutpat sed purus. Aenean arcu ante, accumsan ut mauris id, pulvinar egestas ante. Sed in lobortis massa, at consequat mi. Donec ac varius nisi. Pellentesque placerat dapibus metus vel sagittis.

Ut ultrices tortor vel diam vehicula, sit amet lacinia risus porttitor. Aliquam vel condimentum nisl, at dignissim nunc. Vivamus in purus a dui venenatis rutrum non sit amet ipsum. Nulla facilisi. Vivamus vitae semper quam, quis ornare enim. Donec egestas diam sapien, sit amet fringilla nisi vehicula et. Vestibulum convallis porttitor magna, quis accumsan nunc congue eget. Nulla facilisi. Mauris et metus at est auctor fermentum id vitae neque. Morbi accumsan fermentum metus vel iaculis.

Pellentesque eros purus, aliquam ultrices elementum ut, faucibus ut lacus. Fusce eu mattis dolor, eget suscipit ante. Sed elementum nec diam sit amet porta. Aliquam erat volutpat. Vestibulum imperdiet, lorem ut tristique imperdiet, nulla mauris sodales justo, ut tincidunt metus sem in ante. Nullam dui lacus, cursus at fermentum ut, adipiscing id eros. Nunc sollicitudin dolor vulputate, suscipit turpis pulvinar, hendrerit tellus. Aenean tempus, ligula id auctor porttitor, neque erat consectetur nulla, vel luctus quam neque in enim. Nunc faucibus justo sed eros auctor molestie. Etiam porttitor sollicitudin massa, et accumsan ante ultrices vel. Vestibulum tempus felis risus, ut viverra erat consequat vel. Cras pulvinar vehicula purus, nec aliquam lectus luctus a. Nam euismod massa eu nunc pharetra tincidunt. Etiam leo nisi, sodales quis varius eu, placerat at sem. Sed pharetra arcu eget dolor bibendum, ut interdum enim mattis.

Etiam sodales dictum libero, non rutrum tellus facilisis ut. Etiam ullamcorper urna condimentum sapien vestibulum, vel vehicula magna interdum. Phasellus vestibulum ipsum eu ultricies luctus. In id varius ante. Aenean sit amet molestie sapien, id lacinia dui. Duis in sodales elit, a ullamcorper ante. Suspendisse pharetra fringilla felis, ut condimentum urna pharetra vitae. Etiam iaculis dolor nec nunc lacinia, ac pulvinar massa euismod. Phasellus varius mi sit amet nulla viverra congue. Nunc non porttitor nunc, a suscipit lorem. Ut eu lacinia leo.

Phasellus eleifend in metus vel vehicula. Sed mauris massa, gravida id quam ac, rhoncus egestas lectus. Maecenas et aliquet tellus, sit amet pretium risus. Praesent viverra bibendum magna, ut placerat lacus condimentum quis. Ut in mauris eu purus ornare dictum sed eu massa. Cras interdum sit amet libero id porta. Class aptent taciti sociosqu ad litora torquent per conubia nostra, per inceptos himenaeos. Sed eleifend posuere convallis. Integer rutrum in lacus ut scelerisque. Nunc pellentesque dui sed tempor suscipit. Mauris odio odio, fermentum quis sem aliquam, eleifend tincidunt ligula. Aliquam erat volutpat. Phasellus faucibus rutrum odio, pulvinar lobortis mauris vulputate at.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


26 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Loreli said...
Well thats a real good idea. Especially for checking the fit using the lining. I suppose a person just will have to cut 1 Inch seam alowances for any case. Thanks Ann.
12/19/02 7:06 PM
CatherineN said...
I'm trying that on a dress I'm making now. Hope it works.
12/20/02 11:02 PM
Glo said...
What a common sense solution! I'll have to make constructing the lining first part of my standard technique. And I loved the red dress this tip came from, by the way.
12/21/02 5:45 PM
Mbarkle said...
Hey, I just did this. Thought of it on my own and what a great idea. I am working on a lined dress, so I cut the lining first and basted it together. It looks like it will fit okay, so now I'll sew it up before I cut the chiffon layer.
1/10/03 5:34 PM
Lia said...
THIS IS AN AWESOME IDEA. WHY HAVE I NEVER THOUGHT OF IT. WILL DO IT ON MY NEXT SKIRT PROJECT.
3/7/03 1:32 PM
jb said...
Great Idea, I am going to trying this on a dress and skirt that must have a lining. Have a question for you. I have heavy tummy and big hips. MY skirt rides up in the back and makes the front slag . I have altered for heavy tummy and hip, but I could use some help on this issue. I have used several altering tecchniques but havent been satisfied with them. I also sing Opera (coloratura soprano), but now I sing mostly gospel and gospel jazz with an operatic twist. Hoping to come out with my first album this year.
6/17/03 8:11 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
JB, usually (and I would have to get a look at you to tell if this is the case) skirts riding up in back are a sign of a protruding derriere. Actually, I prefer to call this "J. Lo butt" - it sounds much sexier :). It means that you need to add height at the center back. There's a good example of how to do this in Sandra Betzina's book "Fast Fit". I also prefer to use the seam method of alteration, which is shown in the tips section on the home page. I'm also going to copy your question to the Pattern Modification section of the message boards (http://www.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/ikonboard/ikonboard.pl?s=3ef04ef66ae5ffff;act=SF;f=26) and see what the experts say. HTH! And if you come to the PR weekend in NYC, maybe we can have a jam session! -Ann
6/18/03 10:10 AM
jb said...
This is such a wonderful suggestion. I am getting ready to try this on a dress and a skirt
6/21/03 1:40 AM
Nay1975 said...
This is a great tip, I am in the process of making a dress for a wedding and I have this great fabric that needs a lining. I was unsure on how to add the lining and if it would disrupt the dress, but I think I can go ahead and add it.
7/17/03 2:04 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Just read this tip, where have I been? This makes so much sense to me. You have defined my feelings about linings perfectly and yet never thought of it as a muslin. Which regretfully I hate to do. This is a great tip.
1/6/04 6:02 AM
busy91 said...
This is an awesome idea!
4/27/04 8:34 AM
Wild Rose said...
I hate making muslins. I make historical garments and bone the inner panel. That's what I use for a fitting. But I now have to make contemporary garments. I LOVE setting a lining. Now I can use the lining as the muslin too. Thanks, Diane
9/19/04 10:27 AM
priscilla said...
What a great suggestion. You're right about tending to cut corners if you do the lining last ...ask me how I know :O)
2/5/06 8:01 AM
ginaT said...
Great Idea
2/11/07 5:26 PM
ZoeP said...
Great tip. I feel is boring to work on linings when all I want to do is wear the garment, and like the idea of being able to do a fit check. thank you.
5/12/07 10:35 PM
gaby said...
GREAT TIP!! That's why I love this site!
7/24/07 10:29 PM
barbcl said...
Great tip, thanks!
11/4/07 7:27 PM
Nancy Anne said...
What a marvelous tip! I am just about to make a jacket with a full lining, and will use your suggestion- how timely!
2/14/08 9:23 AM
Grammy Gin said...
A very helpful suggestion. I plan to use it the next time I have a pattern with a lining. Thanks so much! ;-)
2/14/08 10:40 AM
LauraBell said...
This is a GREAT idea!
8/6/08 9:54 AM
CathrynR said...
Especially to the point is the lining let-down, waiting until the garment is finished before making the garment. I definitely will do the lining first, next time I make a lined garment. Thanks.
10/18/08 11:27 AM
Lynnelle said...
Great tip! Thank you.
11/17/08 8:43 AM
moniki20 said...
Excellent idea! Will be doing lining first from now on. Thanks.
11/18/08 1:18 PM
Berry B said...
Excellent idea ! I face the same lining letdown feeling so from now on I'll do lining first!
1/22/09 3:56 AM
jlbrannon said...
That is a GREAT idea! Why didn't I think of that?
5/20/09 10:54 PM
Beckyskates said...
Thanks for this suggestion. I am trying to stop the lining from riding up. I just made a dress that did not call or lining. It is four way stretch burnt out velvet and the lining is ribbed lycra. The lining rides up to my waste in about ten steps. Any ideas?
1/2/10 11:56 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt

Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt

Buy Now
Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.