SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Finish facing with invisible zipper .

Viewed 5546 times
Posted by: els
photo

 
 
About els starstar
NA NETHERLANDS
Member since: 1/28/03
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 48 people
tips added: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/15/05 7:42 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 39 people   
Web site/URL: photo
This way of finishing a facing with an invisible zipper can be used for any facing, like a neckline, skirt or pants waistline. I always use a small flat button and fabric loop made of bias cut lining to reduce the stress of the zipper.
Cut the facing the same length as the waistband including the seam allowance.
Sew the facing at the waistband till about 8 cm from the zipper.click here
It will look like this click here
and click here
If you want to use a button and loop, start with sewing the loop at the right part of the zipper tape about 1 cm below the zipper pull click here
The facing seam allowance at the top should be moved/angled 1 cm from the seam allowance from the waistline, the end of the facing must match the seam allowance from the skirt click here andclick here Sew the facing next at the zipper tape.click here and click here leave the last 1,5 cm unsewn , so you can insert the lining at the facing bottom later.
Push the zipper coil flat and fold the zipper to the facing part.
click hereStitch the upper part facing at the waistline but do not backstitch yet click here Turn the facings to the inside
click here
and
click here and check if your waistline facing is even click here If the facing is even on both sides turn again to the outside and stitch over the previous line and do backstitch and cut the corners at an angle and grade the seams click here
Turn the facing again to the inside and sew the button on.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


18 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
gds said...
Beautifully done, els. Thank you.
3/16/05 5:10 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Pictures are great, I'm sure this will help lots of people. Nice of you to do a photo shoot during your sewing!
3/16/05 5:57 AM
ChrisK said...
Thank you Els, your step by step instructions and photos are really helpful.
3/16/05 2:18 PM
Shari Lynn said...
Els, this is great. Can't wait to try it.
3/17/05 9:23 AM
els said...
You’re welcome, I learned this method some years ago from a colleague and needed the visual part to understand exactly what was going on. Because English is not my first language, I guess it would help others more if I could add pictures of the step by step process.The button and loop, I use only with a high waistband on skirts or pants.
3/17/05 2:03 PM
zoeysews said...
I am not a ver experienced sewer and I was trying to figure out how to do this. I find this article with pictures invaluable. I am a visual learner and have to "see" how something is done. Thanks so much.
3/17/05 7:36 PM
Loreli said...
Thankyou Els!! So good you showed this with photos, now a person can´t go wrong. Very neat work.
3/19/05 7:30 AM
grammiepam said...
Els' description was simple, well structured, and clear. The photos are a great help because sewing uses many terms which can be interpreted more than one way unless one is already familiar with a technique.
5/11/05 1:56 PM
baker_eliz said...
great tip. a little confusing sometimes, to follow, though. It would probably be clearer if i were actually trying it with a real zipper instead of just reading through it.
5/11/05 9:08 PM
sandiesews said...
Great review. I will be making some pants w/ invisible back zipper. One uncertainty, tho. What does the button loop look like? on inside, or outside?
5/15/05 8:20 PM
els said...
sandiesews on the ouside the button and loop is invisible it only is sewn at the inside about 1 cm below the zipper pull. The button is a small flat transparent one and the loop I made of bias cut lining will look like click here
5/16/05 3:43 AM
Henrietta Talfourd-Jones said...
What a wonderful technique. Thanks so much for posting it. I have just done my invisible zip this way on a pair of lilac linen capri pants and I can't believe how professional it looks, definately the way I am going to finish faced waistlines with an invisible zip in the future. I can' t thank you enough
5/22/05 12:04 PM
Sew it seams said...
Els, you are the best. Thank you so much. I will try this on my next skirt.
10/19/05 12:36 PM
Pam Z said...
Excellent tip...thank you!
1/25/06 6:23 PM
Diane E said...
Els, thank you so much for this tip. I am grateful to Cambric Tea for mentioning it in her New Look skirt review. This is wonderful and I plan to try it the next time I make a skirt or pair of pants.
5/22/06 0:17 AM
Annemieke4Ragz said...
hoi Els -- dank je voor je tip! erg duidelijk en het werkt - ik ben een rok uit een Patrones aan het maken en ziet er nu helemaal geweldig uit.
8/18/06 5:19 PM
Tany said...
This is one of the most helpful tips ever! Thank you Els, I'll save this information to use from now on. It's simple, it works and you've explained it so well!
2/25/07 1:34 PM
TalyQ said...
OH, I so much want to see this, but I get error messages when clicking on the pictures. I want to learn it! Please, is there anyway to see the pictures? Thank you.
12/9/08 8:06 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.