SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Waxed Paper for Sewing Sequined Fabric

Viewed 7141 times
Posted by: GorgeousFabrics
photo

 
 
About GorgeousFabrics starstarstarstar
Member since: 8/12/02
Reviews written: 63
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 254 people
tips added: 23
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/19/05 9:10 AM
Last Updated: 5/30/14 9:33 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 15 people   
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Fusce massa dui, blandit eu erat eget, luctus imperdiet velit. Sed ac fringilla velit, quis varius nunc. Sed ac interdum neque, iaculis malesuada lacus. Suspendisse mollis porttitor arcu quis mattis. In vitae eros felis. Nunc pharetra ac mauris interdum interdum. Nullam vitae augue et diam pretium mattis ac vitae mi. Fusce at tempus magna, vitae interdum est. Curabitur convallis varius lacus. Cras varius luctus augue, et faucibus ligula tincidunt nec. Fusce id porta dui. Etiam tristique velit tortor, at aliquam mauris feugiat sit amet. Proin quis leo imperdiet nunc sodales consequat ac nec ipsum. Donec iaculis, risus eu porttitor rhoncus, ipsum lectus lacinia urna, vel facilisis libero turpis in turpis.

Vestibulum ac urna at odio commodo mattis et eu sapien. Fusce volutpat ornare ipsum, at pulvinar justo elementum vitae. Morbi congue eget nunc eu iaculis. Cras faucibus nulla non dui molestie placerat. Quisque vestibulum faucibus dui, ac malesuada felis. In hac habitasse platea dictumst. Etiam pretium nisl neque, vitae pharetra mi consectetur ut. Nulla molestie enim quis mattis dapibus. Ut luctus placerat lectus, at vehicula augue dignissim et. Morbi luctus aliquet sagittis. Cras nec lacus non ligula malesuada hendrerit. Donec eu diam orci. Ut euismod nec est at tincidunt.

Praesent porta urna id vulputate feugiat. Donec id porttitor justo. Nam a elementum massa. In venenatis turpis quis tellus malesuada suscipit. Phasellus ultricies placerat lorem ac consequat. Praesent imperdiet semper erat, eget pharetra arcu aliquet eget. Nam eget lacus eget felis luctus sodales molestie at augue. In ullamcorper turpis vel molestie pretium. Vestibulum fermentum, metus at mollis tristique, ligula dolor rhoncus neque, ut volutpat tellus arcu id lacus. Pellentesque varius posuere dui malesuada dapibus.

In hac habitasse platea dictumst. Nunc mauris lectus, viverra ut pellentesque at, mollis varius orci. Donec id imperdiet massa, non facilisis velit. Sed et dui sit amet metus pellentesque placerat in vel ligula. Cras suscipit felis sed tellus tempus porttitor. Donec cursus leo massa, vitae faucibus sapien congue id. Ut lobortis justo odio, vitae imperdiet augue molestie eget. Pellentesque habitant morbi tristique senectus et netus et malesuada fames ac turpis egestas. Duis semper scelerisque tempus.

Donec eget nibh odio. Duis magna felis, pulvinar ut tincidunt ac, dictum sit amet dolor. Maecenas a nisl justo. Maecenas convallis diam sit amet est aliquam, at viverra justo cursus. Duis fringilla sem metus, quis consectetur odio pharetra at. Morbi sit amet placerat quam. Cum sociis natoque penatibus et magnis dis parturient montes, nascetur ridiculus mus. Morbi in viverra nisl, nec lobortis diam. Sed consequat tempus purus, non ullamcorper magna accumsan consectetur. Vestibulum a sapien malesuada, ultrices dolor eu, mattis magna. Vestibulum venenatis nisl condimentum magna ultricies pulvinar. Phasellus lacinia odio massa, a tincidunt arcu aliquet et. Curabitur vehicula libero quis pharetra suscipit. Integer volutpat neque quis tortor facilisis, sed sagittis arcu tempus.

Vivamus et faucibus sapien, vel aliquam leo. Aenean id arcu a mauris pharetra tincidunt. Maecenas suscipit et neque ut viverra. Phasellus eget bibendum tellus, sit amet dignissim lacus. Sed ac varius.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


13 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
I love this tip. Thanks for posting it.
3/19/05 9:42 AM
vita said...
With about 40 sequined costumes still left to sew for a dance school, you have just saved me a case of alcohol and paper towels! Thank you so much!
3/19/05 11:13 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Thanks for the tip, Ann. I just bought a piece of this to make an evening bag. I didn't even think about glue problems. Does this mean it's ok to sew through the sequins? I figured I'd have to remove any in the way, when stitching the seams.
3/20/05 5:55 AM
AnneM said...
Fascinating tip. Thanks for sharing it.
3/20/05 8:46 AM
fabricrazed said...
I have been fighting with this stuff for years. I am so glad I came across this review. I am so happy to be a member now. I know I definitely have a place to really get down to the nitty gritty of sewing issues. Thanks ever so much!!!!
3/22/05 2:49 PM
popoagiesmiles said...
I got two large pieces of something that seems similar but that has closely spaced rectangles instead of dots in my two Fabric Mart mystery bundles. Not sure what to do with it all, but at least this tip will help when I find out!
7/1/06 1:04 AM
ConnieLK said...
I wish I had this tips two years ago. I tried to make a top for New Year's Eve. I eventually got it done, but had to clean the needle every other stitch it seemed!
12/20/06 4:04 PM
micdenton said...
Thank you!!! Saved my project. Was about ready to toss the machine and all out the window.
11/30/08 3:45 PM
jcharp said...
Thank you so much for posting this! Worked like a charm.
9/10/09 1:56 AM
dustin said...
I totally disagree. I tried doing this just last night while trying to sew my Christmas tree skirt. I tried wax paper on just the top, in between the layers of fabric and even underneath. Nothing worked and eventually the needled ended up gumming up and ruining my project. I don't know how people work with this fabric, honestly.
11/30/11 10:40 AM
greta hovis said...
Thanks for the tip. I have never made anything from this fabric but I have a grandaughter in dance and I want to make her something (or at least try). I am researching on how to sew the costumes. Thanks again Greta(gretahovis@gmail.com)
3/2/12 9:17 AM
jmasover said...
I joined this website just so I could leave you a HUGE thank you for this post. I just tried it on some of the glued-on sequined fabric. Before the waxed paper trick, I could only sew about 10 inches before the needle got gunked up and the seam simply didn't sew together. After waxed paper, I sewed two 40" seams beautifully! The paper just tears right off. Thanks SO MUCH! We have a concert coming up and I was tearing my hair out trying to figure out how to sew 3 sequined blouses. Thank you thank you thank you!
7/3/12 3:11 PM
dsargeant said...
I sooooo wish I had found this before I tried making a costume for the neighbor's little girl - glad to know I'm not the only one that had a problem with this fabric
9/28/13 1:30 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Miranda Day Bag

Miranda Day Bag

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.