Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Waxed Paper for Sewing Sequined Fabric (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 6494 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 15 people   
Posted by: GorgeousFabrics
photo
About GorgeousFabrics starstarstarstar
Member since: 8/12/02
Reviews written: 63
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 255 people
tips added: 23
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/19/05 9:10 AM
Last Updated: 11/4/07 2:03 PM
Web site/URL: photo
I first learned this tip from Linda Stewart of PACC, but it is so helpful I wanted to pass it on.

When sewing the sequined knit fabric - you know the stuff, the knit fabric that has the mylar dots glued on it - take some waxed paper, cut it into strips, lay it over the fabric and sew. Without the waxed paper you end up with glue all over the needle. When I was altering a skating costume for my friend's daughter, I had to clean the needle about every 5 minutes - and that was using a titanium needle, which is supposed to prevent gunking up. But with the waxed paper, it "wipes the needle off" as you sew. When you are finished, just tear away the paper. It works like a dream!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
I love this tip. Thanks for posting it.
3/19/05 9:42 AM
vita said...
With about 40 sequined costumes still left to sew for a dance school, you have just saved me a case of alcohol and paper towels! Thank you so much!
3/19/05 11:13 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Thanks for the tip, Ann. I just bought a piece of this to make an evening bag. I didn't even think about glue problems. Does this mean it's ok to sew through the sequins? I figured I'd have to remove any in the way, when stitching the seams.
3/20/05 5:55 AM
AnneM said...
Fascinating tip. Thanks for sharing it.
3/20/05 8:46 AM
fabricrazed said...
I have been fighting with this stuff for years. I am so glad I came across this review. I am so happy to be a member now. I know I definitely have a place to really get down to the nitty gritty of sewing issues. Thanks ever so much!!!!
3/22/05 2:49 PM
popoagiesmiles said...
I got two large pieces of something that seems similar but that has closely spaced rectangles instead of dots in my two Fabric Mart mystery bundles. Not sure what to do with it all, but at least this tip will help when I find out!
7/1/06 1:04 AM
ConnieLK said...
I wish I had this tips two years ago. I tried to make a top for New Year's Eve. I eventually got it done, but had to clean the needle every other stitch it seemed!
12/20/06 4:04 PM
micdenton said...
Thank you!!! Saved my project. Was about ready to toss the machine and all out the window.
11/30/08 3:45 PM
jcharp said...
Thank you so much for posting this! Worked like a charm.
9/10/09 1:56 AM
dustin said...
I totally disagree. I tried doing this just last night while trying to sew my Christmas tree skirt. I tried wax paper on just the top, in between the layers of fabric and even underneath. Nothing worked and eventually the needled ended up gumming up and ruining my project. I don't know how people work with this fabric, honestly.
11/30/11 10:40 AM
greta hovis said...
Thanks for the tip. I have never made anything from this fabric but I have a grandaughter in dance and I want to make her something (or at least try). I am researching on how to sew the costumes. Thanks again Greta(gretahovis@gmail.com)
3/2/12 9:17 AM
jmasover said...
I joined this website just so I could leave you a HUGE thank you for this post. I just tried it on some of the glued-on sequined fabric. Before the waxed paper trick, I could only sew about 10 inches before the needle got gunked up and the seam simply didn't sew together. After waxed paper, I sewed two 40" seams beautifully! The paper just tears right off. Thanks SO MUCH! We have a concert coming up and I was tearing my hair out trying to figure out how to sew 3 sequined blouses. Thank you thank you thank you!
7/3/12 3:11 PM
dsargeant said...
I sooooo wish I had found this before I tried making a costume for the neighbor's little girl - glad to know I'm not the only one that had a problem with this fabric
9/28/13 1:30 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us