SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Proportion, EDITED to add "head measuring" diagram link

Viewed 5194 times
Posted by: SewVeryTall
photo

 
 
About SewVeryTall starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/2/04
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 63 people
tips added: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/25/05 5:02 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Needs More Info by 1 people   Very Helpful by 3 people   
Web site/URL: photo
If you have ever wondered if you're long waisted, or have a short rise, or long legs, etc., in comparison to the "average woman", here is the equation:

You start with your head length, measuring from the top of the head, to the bottom edge of your chin [measure between these parallel lines]. This should equal 1/8 of your height.

From the chin to the bust point, another 1/8.

From bust point to waist, another 1/8.

From waist to crotch, another 1/8.

From crotch to knee, another 2/8.

From knee to the floor, another 2/8.

As you can see, a perfectly proportioned woman should be 1/2 legs. Personally, I think that's why highheels are so attractive, they throw the proportion of the legs to over 50%.

Knowing this can really help in wardrobe planning, and what styles of garments will best suit your body.


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
SewVeryTall said...
Ok, I added a drawing to illustrate the parallel lines you should measure for head length. Beware, she's purdy ugly, lol.
3/27/05 7:28 AM
Astrostitcher said...
Sorry but I don't get the first (and the defining measurement! I put the tape measure at the very top point of my head and measure down the nose to the tip of my chin in the middle of my face OR top of head down the ear side to the point of my chin diagonally? or from the top of my head straight down through the ear to a horizontal line that runs from the point of the chin??? Help!
3/26/05 6:01 AM
SewVeryTall said...
You're all very welcome.

Maja...I'm glad you found this, and that it helped you. I was hoping others would benefit from this information as well, by posting it here instead of answering you on the message boards where many might miss it.
3/26/05 4:36 AM

SewTwin said...
I am open to any suggestion to improve my sewing,and God Forbid, "My Look".You can follow WNTW, but you have to define your body 1st to DO that!I think us over 50 girls have the "rounder"circumference,but that is better than anorexic!I will try this,interested in the results!!
3/26/05 2:16 AM
Maychi said...
Thank you so much for posting this tip! It really helped me a lot with defining my figure. I was completely off base trying to figure it out on my own. - Maja
3/25/05 2:29 PM
flowermama said...
Thanks for explaining this! You're right, it should be helpful in selecting garment styles but it also explains some of the alterations I have needed in my beginning fit experiments. Unfortunately, now I have to live with the knowledge that I have a big head in addition to a round head LOL!
3/25/05 1:30 PM
GoSewGirl said...
This is definitely helpful information, but "average" proportions are also dependent on circumference/horizontal measurements. Someone can be very short or tall and still be "perfectly" proportioned - or not. And it depends on size around as well as lengths of individual parts. ie. the old standard of "perfect" measurements of bust-waist-hips being 10" apart. 34-24-34 etc. I think this is why sewing and design is truly an art form - getting the proportions right in a design is actually really challenging!
3/25/05 1:25 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
I like the idea that every woman is, like Mary Poppins, "Practically Perfect in Every Way: :) -Ann
3/25/05 8:37 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Thanks! This confirms what I already suspected- I am short waisted and long legged.
3/25/05 7:39 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

More Info
SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.