SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Prewashing large cuts of fabric

Viewed 5243 times
Posted by: Irene Q
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Irene Q starstarstarstar
NH USA
Member since: 3/19/04
Reviews written: 123
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 96 people
tips added: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/25/05 10:45 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 18 people   
Featured in the PR book!
If you try to machine wash and/or dry large cuts of fabric (3 yards), they can really twist and bunch up, making a big wrinkled mess! To avoid this, accordion-fold the fabric in about 1 yard lengths. Then tack the layers together (I use several zig-zag stitches) at 3 - 4 places along one of the selvadges. Now, throw it in the washer and dryer, and snip them apart when you're done (if they don't come unsewn by themselves).

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


14 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Hope K said...
Irene, this is a great tip! I usually sew the ends together, but for long cuts, the fabric still gets really twisted and off-grain. I'll definitely remember the accordian-folds next time.
3/25/05 7:18 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
This is one of those "Aha!" moments! What a great tip. Why didn't I think of this? Thank you, Irene! -Ann
3/25/05 9:41 PM
SewVeryTall said...
This is a great tip, especially to tack in the selvage area. What is the most yardage you've done this way? [sometimes I buy 10 yards at once]
3/26/05 4:52 AM
Irene Q said...
SewVeryTall, I just did 6 yards of cotton - I think that's the most I've tried.
3/26/05 10:11 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Thanks Irene!
3/27/05 6:07 AM
Rebecca D said...
Irene, thanks for this tip, I used it today and it really cuts down on the tangling of the fabric..
3/27/05 3:02 PM
Kathy in NM said...
Irene, great tip - I tried the lazy way today - used the accordian fold, but was too lazy to tack. It worked great for 4 - 3yd cuts I washed. Thanks!
3/27/05 10:04 PM
GJ said...
Appreciate this info. I just bought 3 yards of Hanna Anderson knits for summer things. Will do as you say. GJ
4/7/05 9:13 AM
Kathy_AZ said...
Thanks Irene. I adapted your tip and instead of tacking I used safety pins. Came out of the wash great. What a time saver!
4/22/05 10:36 AM
Irene Q said...
Kathy, I've heard of using safety pins, but I'm always afraid that they'll rust and leave stains. Make sure yours are stainless steel or brass!
4/23/05 9:02 AM
AnneM said...
Great idea. Thanks for sharing.
6/27/05 11:58 AM
Nana said...
sounds great..........wish I knew this last week when I was dealing w/ the "twisted mess" thanks
8/30/05 10:58 PM
PVA said...
Irene, this is brilliant! Thank you so much for sharing this one.
3/29/06 11:18 AM
Lizz said...
Super! This is just what I wanted to know and I can retrieve it 2 1/2 years after you shared the info. Isn't PR great?
10/24/07 9:44 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.