SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Prewashing large cuts of fabric

Viewed 5264 times
Posted by: Irene Q
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Irene Q starstarstarstar
NH USA
Member since: 3/19/04
Reviews written: 123
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 96 people
tips added: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/25/05 10:45 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 18 people   
Featured in the PR book!
If you try to machine wash and/or dry large cuts of fabric (3 yards), they can really twist and bunch up, making a big wrinkled mess! To avoid this, accordion-fold the fabric in about 1 yard lengths. Then tack the layers together (I use several zig-zag stitches) at 3 - 4 places along one of the selvadges. Now, throw it in the washer and dryer, and snip them apart when you're done (if they don't come unsewn by themselves).

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


14 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Hope K said...
Irene, this is a great tip! I usually sew the ends together, but for long cuts, the fabric still gets really twisted and off-grain. I'll definitely remember the accordian-folds next time.
3/25/05 7:18 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
This is one of those "Aha!" moments! What a great tip. Why didn't I think of this? Thank you, Irene! -Ann
3/25/05 9:41 PM
SewVeryTall said...
This is a great tip, especially to tack in the selvage area. What is the most yardage you've done this way? [sometimes I buy 10 yards at once]
3/26/05 4:52 AM
Irene Q said...
SewVeryTall, I just did 6 yards of cotton - I think that's the most I've tried.
3/26/05 10:11 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Thanks Irene!
3/27/05 6:07 AM
Rebecca D said...
Irene, thanks for this tip, I used it today and it really cuts down on the tangling of the fabric..
3/27/05 3:02 PM
Kathy in NM said...
Irene, great tip - I tried the lazy way today - used the accordian fold, but was too lazy to tack. It worked great for 4 - 3yd cuts I washed. Thanks!
3/27/05 10:04 PM
GJ said...
Appreciate this info. I just bought 3 yards of Hanna Anderson knits for summer things. Will do as you say. GJ
4/7/05 9:13 AM
Kathy_AZ said...
Thanks Irene. I adapted your tip and instead of tacking I used safety pins. Came out of the wash great. What a time saver!
4/22/05 10:36 AM
Irene Q said...
Kathy, I've heard of using safety pins, but I'm always afraid that they'll rust and leave stains. Make sure yours are stainless steel or brass!
4/23/05 9:02 AM
AnneM said...
Great idea. Thanks for sharing.
6/27/05 11:58 AM
Nana said...
sounds great..........wish I knew this last week when I was dealing w/ the "twisted mess" thanks
8/30/05 10:58 PM
PVA said...
Irene, this is brilliant! Thank you so much for sharing this one.
3/29/06 11:18 AM
Lizz said...
Super! This is just what I wanted to know and I can retrieve it 2 1/2 years after you shared the info. Isn't PR great?
10/24/07 9:44 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Buy Now
SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.