SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Turn the ironing board around

Viewed 5190 times
Posted by: Irene Q
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Irene Q starstarstarstar
NH USA
Member since: 3/19/04
Reviews written: 123
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 97 people
tips added: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/25/05 10:50 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 3 people   
Featured in the PR book!
When ironing yardage or other large, flat pieces (like quilt tops or tablecloths), you'll have more space if you turn the ironing board around, so that the square end is on your left (for right-handers) and the pointy end is on your right.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
pacificprincess said...
I do a lot of this type of ironing and never clued in. Thanks!
1/22/07 0:10 AM
PVA said...
Isn't that just like coloring outside the lines? Can we do that? Where do we get permission? Can I say you said it's ok? Makes me kind of nervous! (ROF, LMAO!)
3/30/05 1:04 PM
Gemma K. said...
Geez! I'm duhing too! I go crazy ironing yardage, but it never dawned on me to use the wide end. Ey, Yi, Yi! Betty, you cracked me up! Then again, maybe the wide end was meant to be the normal end and nobody ever knew. Maybe the first woman who ironed simply got it wrong.
3/26/05 11:50 AM
Astrostitcher said...
Karla, You're not alone - make me Duh too!
3/26/05 6:03 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Or you could just move your iron to the other end, lol. This reminds me of what I commented to mamafitz on her new-iron-sewing-supplies-review..."ironing is an ambidextrous sport, right?"
3/26/05 5:05 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
That's interesting...I've always ironed everything like this. I didn't know the board was normally used the other way around!
3/25/05 10:31 PM
Tiner W said...
I've always ironed men's shirts on the square end, too.
3/25/05 10:21 PM
Karla Kizer said...
LOL - DUH!!!! 55 years old, and I never figured this one out for myself. Sheesh! Thank you, Irene.
3/25/05 4:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Petite Plus D202 DVD

Petite Plus D202 DVD

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.