SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Turn the ironing board around

Viewed 5114 times
Posted by: Irene Q
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Irene Q starstarstarstar
NH USA
Member since: 3/19/04
Reviews written: 123
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 96 people
tips added: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/25/05 10:50 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 3 people   
Featured in the PR book!
When ironing yardage or other large, flat pieces (like quilt tops or tablecloths), you'll have more space if you turn the ironing board around, so that the square end is on your left (for right-handers) and the pointy end is on your right.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Karla Kizer said...
LOL - DUH!!!! 55 years old, and I never figured this one out for myself. Sheesh! Thank you, Irene.
3/25/05 4:53 PM
Tiner W said...
I've always ironed men's shirts on the square end, too.
3/25/05 10:21 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
That's interesting...I've always ironed everything like this. I didn't know the board was normally used the other way around!
3/25/05 10:31 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Or you could just move your iron to the other end, lol. This reminds me of what I commented to mamafitz on her new-iron-sewing-supplies-review..."ironing is an ambidextrous sport, right?"
3/26/05 5:05 AM
Astrostitcher said...
Karla, You're not alone - make me Duh too!
3/26/05 6:03 AM
Gemma K. said...
Geez! I'm duhing too! I go crazy ironing yardage, but it never dawned on me to use the wide end. Ey, Yi, Yi! Betty, you cracked me up! Then again, maybe the wide end was meant to be the normal end and nobody ever knew. Maybe the first woman who ironed simply got it wrong.
3/26/05 11:50 AM
PVA said...
Isn't that just like coloring outside the lines? Can we do that? Where do we get permission? Can I say you said it's ok? Makes me kind of nervous! (ROF, LMAO!)
3/30/05 1:04 PM
pacificprincess said...
I do a lot of this type of ironing and never clued in. Thanks!
1/22/07 0:10 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.