SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Off Color Bobbin Thread

Viewed 5165 times
Posted by: KarmenG
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About KarmenG starstar
MA United States
Member since: 1/3/03
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 43 people
tips added: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/16/05 10:55 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 12 people   
Featured in the PR book!
When choosing thread for my garments I always choose an off-color thread for the bobbin ~ just a few shades off so that it's not distasteful on the finished garment. I do this so it's easy to see if seams need to be adjusted; or for areas that need to match exactly, such as notched collars; or for finicky things like welt pockets and bound buttonholes. For instance, my recent project was made of a light color fabric of cream and light beige. For the bobbin thread, I chose the softest of yellow thread which contrasted enough for easy removal if necesary ~ less obvious than if I went with a beige (which would have been too dark). I usually try to choose one or two shades lighter, not darker than the fabric so won't show on the finished garment. It's such an easy aid for that dreaded unpicking if you have to do it!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Jane Jane said...
Does anyone know how to sew a notched collar the way the "industry" does it? All I know is that it differs from the instructions we see in a conventional home sewer pattern
5/28/10 5:29 PM
Nickle said...
What a great tip- I sew black a lot and this tip is going to make it so much easier.
4/23/05 4:06 AM
Gigi Louis said...
I heard somewhere than Chanel often uses navy thread on their black garments to make alterations easier. Why didn't I think of that?
4/20/05 9:47 AM
KarmenG said...
Too funy Whit! Yes - go for the navy thread and you'll see the difference.
4/20/05 8:56 AM
whit said...
So THAT'S how you work with black fabric!!! Now I have an excuse. It's the thread. That's my story and I'm stickin' to it. Thanks for the tip. Whit
4/19/05 7:11 PM
PVA said...
This is a great tip, thank you! This idea is going to be particularly helpful when working with dark colors. My elderly eyes will thank you, too! (8^D)
4/17/05 10:13 AM
JDpenelope said...
What a clever idea. Thanks!
4/17/05 7:23 AM
ryehundy said...
I have been a subscriber to patternreview.com for quite sometime. But just today finally sat down to discover all the wonderful stuff available here. I went crazy printing out all the tips and techniques. Thanks to all of you. I'm not sure this is the proper place to post this. FRS in loUiSiAna
4/16/05 9:14 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
I really like this idea. It would certainly make it easier when having to pull out stitching when having to change side seams or whatever.
4/16/05 11:44 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Petite Plus 102 Pattern

Petite Plus 102 Pattern

More Info
Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.