SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Class Reviews > Fitting Clinic with Cynthia Guffey

Massachusetts, UNITED STATES
Viewed 5278 times
Posted by: GorgeousFabrics
photo

 
 
About GorgeousFabrics starstarstarstar
Member since: 8/12/02
Reviews written: 63
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 254 people
classes reviewed: 2
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/17/05 8:04 PM
Rating: starstarstar
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 8 people   
Web site/URL: photo
This is an all-day class given as an adjunct to the Sewing and Quilt Expo. There were 8 people in the class, so we all got a lot of one-on-one time with Cynthia.

The class was divided up into several parts. The first part was a general discussion of fit, particularly relating to the bodice and back. The second part was an intensive measuring session, covering all parts of the body - but no circumferences. The third part was fitting a muslin, that we brought to class, to our bodies.

This class was a bargain at $114. Cynthia has a whole methodology of bodice fitting that is built around fitting the back and shoulders. Up until today, I had not heard about this way of fitting, and it really really works! It eliminates the whole forward shoulder adjustment. Because the class was small, we were each able to get a personal fitting session in front of the rest of the class. It was fascinating to see the adjustments on each body, even if some of the adjustments don't necessarily apply to you. Cynthia was generous with her time and her knowledge.

From a personal standpoint, having a full set of measurements is invaluable. I never realized that one of my hips is so much higher than the other until Phyllis C. and another lady did my measurements. When Cynthia fitted my muslin, made from 4675, View B, I was amazed at the difference. I don't want to give away any of her trade secrets, though I will review the finished dress later this week.

Conclusion This is a wonderful class. You don't need to be an expert, or even an intermediate sewer to get great information out of her class. I highly recommend this to sewers of all levels.

HTH!
Ann

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Donna Isler said...
This sounds fabulous! But why no circumference measurements?
4/17/05 11:22 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Donna, instead of doing a a "full bust" measurement, for example, she has you measure the back bust from side seam to side seam, and the front bust from side seam to side seam. This gives you a better set of measurements to compare against the actual pattern pieces. If you have an asymmetric hip, like I do, you measure each side separately and make pattern adjustments accordingly. It eliminates many of the mistakes that would naturally happen if you just went with a full circumference. Is that clear as mud? -Ann
4/18/05 6:51 AM
Stitchology said...
Thanks. I never know what classes to pick at these things. I have the feeling this approach to bust measurement would solve a lot of problems for me, with a wide back and small bust.
4/18/05 8:43 AM
PhyllisC said...
I have to agree 100% with Ann - Cynthia's method is easy to understand and remarkably straightforward she basically has teaches to you understand how your body measurements deviate from the standard measurements in any pattern. After the measuring session, Cynthia individually analyzed and slashed/pinned each our muslins while we wore them - and, incredibly - these alterations *exactly* correlated to the measurements we had taken earlier! In terms of body type Ann and I are pretty different, yet both of use left with the same consistent and well-fitted result. This class is an outstanding value and sewers of every skill level will benefit from her technique. But you *do* need to create a muslin, bring it to the class and be comfortable being seen/measured in your skivvies or a leotard. If your pattern has sleeves you must set them into the muslin. Cynthia is a good teacher, but she does expect you to come prepared.
4/18/05 8:58 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Wow - her home base is 20 minutes from me! No excuse to not take one of her classes when she does them here! Thanks for this review Ann
4/18/05 9:47 AM
PixieCat said...
I had the same experience with Cynthia last month when I took this class at the Cleveland expo. Her method makes so much more sense to me and I like the process of applying a set of measurements to a flat pattern rather than tissue fitting. It's already made a world of difference to my confidence in fitting.
4/18/05 3:13 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Oh, I'm jealous! ;) I wanted to do this class at Atlanta, but adding an extra day to the trip just wasn't feasible. I'd love to drive down to Baton Rouge and take one of her extended classes, though... did you get any good recipes? :p
4/18/05 8:55 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Thanks for making us O/S sewers jealous! Maybe she might come out to one of our sewing fairs (Australia)?
4/19/05 11:03 PM
LilD said...
This review makes me want to take this class. It is well written, and easy to follow, as to the process that Cynthia used.
5/1/05 8:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

Buy Now
Purse-Nickities

Purse-Nickities

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.