SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Interchangeable buttons

Viewed 5692 times
Posted by: GorgeousFabrics
photo

 
 
About GorgeousFabrics starstarstarstar
Member since: 8/12/02
Reviews written: 63
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 254 people
tips added: 23
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/9/05 3:04 PM
Last Updated: 5/30/14 9:34 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 10 people   
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Fusce massa dui, blandit eu erat eget, luctus imperdiet velit. Sed ac fringilla velit, quis varius nunc. Sed ac interdum neque, iaculis malesuada lacus. Suspendisse mollis porttitor arcu quis mattis. In vitae eros felis. Nunc pharetra ac mauris interdum interdum. Nullam vitae augue et diam pretium mattis ac vitae mi. Fusce at tempus magna, vitae interdum est. Curabitur convallis varius lacus. Cras varius luctus augue, et faucibus ligula tincidunt nec. Fusce id porta dui. Etiam tristique velit tortor, at aliquam mauris feugiat sit amet. Proin quis leo imperdiet nunc sodales consequat ac nec ipsum. Donec iaculis, risus eu porttitor rhoncus, ipsum lectus lacinia urna, vel facilisis libero turpis in turpis.

Vestibulum ac urna at odio commodo mattis et eu sapien. Fusce volutpat ornare ipsum, at pulvinar justo elementum vitae. Morbi congue eget nunc eu iaculis. Cras faucibus nulla non dui molestie placerat. Quisque vestibulum faucibus dui, ac malesuada felis. In hac habitasse platea dictumst. Etiam pretium nisl neque, vitae pharetra mi consectetur ut. Nulla molestie enim quis mattis dapibus. Ut luctus placerat lectus, at vehicula augue dignissim et. Morbi luctus aliquet sagittis. Cras nec lacus non ligula malesuada hendrerit. Donec eu diam orci. Ut euismod nec est at tincidunt.

Praesent porta urna id vulputate feugiat. Donec id porttitor justo. Nam a elementum massa. In venenatis turpis quis tellus malesuada suscipit. Phasellus ultricies placerat lorem ac consequat. Praesent imperdiet semper erat, eget pharetra arcu aliquet eget. Nam eget lacus eget felis luctus sodales molestie at augue. In ullamcorper turpis vel molestie pretium. Vestibulum fermentum, metus at mollis tristique, ligula dolor rhoncus neque, ut volutpat tellus arcu id lacus. Pellentesque varius posuere dui malesuada dapibus.

In hac habitasse platea dictumst. Nunc mauris lectus, viverra ut pellentesque at, mollis varius orci. Donec id imperdiet massa, non facilisis velit. Sed et dui sit amet metus pellentesque placerat in vel ligula. Cras suscipit felis sed tellus tempus porttitor. Donec cursus leo massa, vitae faucibus sapien congue id. Ut lobortis justo odio, vitae imperdiet augue molestie eget. Pellentesque habitant morbi tristique senectus et netus et malesuada fames ac turpis egestas. Duis semper scelerisque tempus.

Donec eget nibh odio. Duis magna felis, pulvinar ut tincidunt ac, dictum sit amet dolor. Maecenas a nisl justo. Maecenas convallis diam sit amet est aliquam, at viverra justo cursus. Duis fringilla sem metus, quis consectetur odio pharetra at. Morbi sit amet placerat quam. Cum sociis natoque penatibus et magnis dis parturient montes, nascetur ridiculus mus. Morbi in viverra nisl, nec lobortis diam. Sed consequat tempus purus, non ullamcorper magna accumsan consectetur. Vestibulum a sapien malesuada, ultrices dolor eu, mattis magna. Vestibulum venenatis nisl condimentum magna ultricies pulvinar. Phasellus lacinia odio massa, a tincidunt arcu aliquet et. Curabitur vehicula libero quis pharetra suscipit. Integer volutpat neque quis tortor facilisis, sed sagittis arcu tempus.

Vivamus et faucibus sapien, vel aliquam leo. Aenean id arcu a mauris pharetra tincidunt. Maecenas suscipit et neque ut viverra. Phasellus eget bibendum tellus, sit amet dignissim lacus. Sed ac varius.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


17 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
KarmenG said...
Thanks for the cool tip Ann!
5/10/05 8:00 AM
melgosews said...
I find that quite interesting, thanks.
5/10/05 12:00 PM
PixieCat said...
What a great idea!
5/10/05 3:29 PM
CindyK said...
Thanks for the grosgrain idea. Since you have buttonholes on both sides, you could also "switch the sex" of the garment by reversing the buttons. I did this on a toddler sweater.
5/11/05 7:27 AM
Frogstitcher said...
I really like this idea. It would work real well on some of the more casual type shirts such as a denim style. Dress it up or down with buttons. Thanks for this great tip.
5/11/05 10:56 AM
gansett gal said...
Good recycled tip. Yes, recycled. I learned this in junior high school in Rhode Island. But nice to see it's still used and it is very useful.
5/13/05 2:07 PM
AnneM said...
Interesting idea. Do you make the regular buttonholes horizontal and the button buttonholes (so to speak) vertical?
5/16/05 7:12 PM
Georgene said...
Anne, buttonhole direction depends on where they are being used. For a set on placket or band generally the button hole is up and down. For a non-defined closure, like a jacket or blouse with a facing, buttonholes go across. Horizontal button holes have more give and are less likely to gape. Those of us who have 'important' chests can end up with gaposis when the buttonholes are vertical.
5/16/05 11:12 PM
Muria said...
This would be especially helpful for tween to teen daughter's clothes ("but they've SEEN me in this already"). :) Thanks for sharing this tip!
5/16/05 11:14 PM
Mirza said...
This is a really neat idea!! I have never heard this one although someone commented it is a recycled idea. Thanks for taking the time for mentioning it.
5/17/05 10:44 AM
AnneM said...
Ok, so why do you recommend making these buttonholes vertical? (From a chest perspective, I can certain get away with either direction! )
5/17/05 11:50 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Anne, I recommend making the "button side" buttonholes vertical because then if you are slightly off, the vertical buttonhole (behind the horizontal buttonhole on the "regular buttonhole side") will be more forgiving, allowing the button to slide around slightly. Does that make sense? -Ann
5/17/05 2:58 PM
KitnRose said...
What a great idea! And it's just giving me one more reason to covet a sewing machine that likes to make button holes. Right now snaps are my friend ... but someday I'll try out this tip! Thanks for posting it.
5/17/05 5:46 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Thanks for sharing this, Anne. This is *much* easier than the way I've been doing it - with button pins. I can see loads of possibilities for a Little Black Dress or basic suit.
5/17/05 7:05 PM
els said...
The use of a changeable button strip is also a great way to use your fragile/precious buttons which can not be washed or dry cleaned. So much quicker than removing the buttons and sew them back on again
5/23/05 8:11 AM
Hilary said...
Wow, great idea, Anne! I had never thought or heard of this. Now I have a solution when I can't decide *which* great buttons to use! Thans for posting :o)
5/23/05 9:56 AM
Reedy said...
Neat! I never heard of that before. Sparks the creativity, you know?
5/25/05 2:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.