Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Interchangeable buttons (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5479 times
Review rated Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 10 people   
Posted by: GorgeousFabrics
photo
About GorgeousFabrics starstarstarstar
Member since: 8/12/02
Reviews written: 63
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 255 people
tips added: 23
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/9/05 3:04 PM
I was inspired by Phyllis C's muslin button tip to share this up. When making a blouse, or other garment that has buttons on it, you can completely change the look by making changeable button strips.

To do this, forego sewing buttons on your garment, and instead put a set of buttonholes on the "button" side, spaced to correspond with the "regular buttonholes". I recommend making these buttonholes vertical, and making them slightly larger than your standard buttonholes so you can align the bottoms of the garment.

Next, sew your buttons onto a grosgrain ribbon. Insert the buttons through both the "button" and "regular buttonhole" layers of the garment. You can then change button style on a whim, creating a whole new look for a garment!

HTH!
Ann
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KarmenG said...
Thanks for the cool tip Ann!
5/10/05 8:00 AM
melgosews said...
I find that quite interesting, thanks.
5/10/05 12:00 PM
PixieCat said...
What a great idea!
5/10/05 3:29 PM
CindyK said...
Thanks for the grosgrain idea. Since you have buttonholes on both sides, you could also "switch the sex" of the garment by reversing the buttons. I did this on a toddler sweater.
5/11/05 7:27 AM
Frogstitcher said...
I really like this idea. It would work real well on some of the more casual type shirts such as a denim style. Dress it up or down with buttons. Thanks for this great tip.
5/11/05 10:56 AM
gansett gal said...
Good recycled tip. Yes, recycled. I learned this in junior high school in Rhode Island. But nice to see it's still used and it is very useful.
5/13/05 2:07 PM
AnneM said...
Interesting idea. Do you make the regular buttonholes horizontal and the button buttonholes (so to speak) vertical?
5/16/05 7:12 PM
Georgene said...
Anne, buttonhole direction depends on where they are being used. For a set on placket or band generally the button hole is up and down. For a non-defined closure, like a jacket or blouse with a facing, buttonholes go across. Horizontal button holes have more give and are less likely to gape. Those of us who have 'important' chests can end up with gaposis when the buttonholes are vertical.
5/16/05 11:12 PM
Muria said...
This would be especially helpful for tween to teen daughter's clothes ("but they've SEEN me in this already"). :) Thanks for sharing this tip!
5/16/05 11:14 PM
Mirza said...
This is a really neat idea!! I have never heard this one although someone commented it is a recycled idea. Thanks for taking the time for mentioning it.
5/17/05 10:44 AM
AnneM said...
Ok, so why do you recommend making these buttonholes vertical? (From a chest perspective, I can certain get away with either direction! )
5/17/05 11:50 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Anne, I recommend making the "button side" buttonholes vertical because then if you are slightly off, the vertical buttonhole (behind the horizontal buttonhole on the "regular buttonhole side") will be more forgiving, allowing the button to slide around slightly. Does that make sense? -Ann
5/17/05 2:58 PM
KitnRose said...
What a great idea! And it's just giving me one more reason to covet a sewing machine that likes to make button holes. Right now snaps are my friend ... but someday I'll try out this tip! Thanks for posting it.
5/17/05 5:46 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Thanks for sharing this, Anne. This is *much* easier than the way I've been doing it - with button pins. I can see loads of possibilities for a Little Black Dress or basic suit.
5/17/05 7:05 PM
els said...
The use of a changeable button strip is also a great way to use your fragile/precious buttons which can not be washed or dry cleaned. So much quicker than removing the buttons and sew them back on again
5/23/05 8:11 AM
Hilary said...
Wow, great idea, Anne! I had never thought or heard of this. Now I have a solution when I can't decide *which* great buttons to use! Thans for posting :o)
5/23/05 9:56 AM
Reedy said...
Neat! I never heard of that before. Sparks the creativity, you know?
5/25/05 2:24 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us